Evolution of the National Citizenry

  • Confederation of 1867

    Confederation of 1867
    Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick combined to become the Dominion of Canada on July 1, 1867.
  • Wartime Elections Act 1917

    Gave the vote to female relatives of Canadian soldiers serving overseas. The Wartime Election Act was passed on September 20, 1917.
  • Persons Case 1929

    A constitutional ruling conducted by five prominent women activists that opened the Senate of Canda to women. This caused The Supreme Court of Canada to declare that women were not considered "persons".
  • Citizenship Act 1946

    Established Canadian citizenship as a distinct category which allowed residents of Canda citizenship of their country.
  • Bill of Rights 1960

    A federal statue and bill of rights enacted by Parliament of Canada on August 10, 1960, becoming the country's first federal law to protect human rights and fundamental freedom.
  • Policy of Multiculturalism 1971

    A policy that complements the Royal commission on bilingualism and biculturalism.
  • Immigration Act 1976

    Recognized certain rights of Canadian citizens within the immigration structure which weren't available to persons without citizenship status.
  • Charter of Rights and Freedom 1982

    Guarantees the rights and freedoms set to reasonable limits prescribed by law. Such rights as the right to equality, democracy, and mobility.
  • Multicultural Act 1988

    Protects the cultural heritage of all Canadians, reduce discrimination, and encourage the implementation of multicultural programs and initiatives within institutions and organizations.
  • Quebec Nation Motion 2006

    A parliamentary motion proposed by Prime Minister of Canda Stephen Harper that read "That this house recognize that the Quebec form a nation within a united Canda".