Quebec flag

MarkB History of Québec

  • Period: Jan 1, 1500 to

    History of Qébec

  • Jan 1, 1534

    Jacques Cartier

    Jacques Cartier
    1534-Explored and mapped the Gulf of St-Lawrence, reported what he thought was gold but lots of fish, timber, and furs.
  • Jan 1, 1535

    Jacques Cartier

    Sailed up the St-Lawrence, reached Stadacona (Quebec). Nice natives showed Europeans how to survive winter and scurvy. They return with native captives.
  • Jan 1, 1541

    Jacques Cartier

    Attemped to set up a colony (not successful). Missionaries attempted to convert natives. France lost interest for 60yrs.
  • Samuel de Champlin

    The king first sent a voyage in 1605 to establish a settlement in Nova Scotia called Port Royal. Samuel de Champlain was a part of Port Royal. Port Royal failed because of its position
  • Samuel de Champlain

    Champlain returned in 1608-09 to establish a trading post near Stadacona (Quebec), a point where the river narrows.
  • Champlain’s 1632 map of New France

    Champlain’s 1632 map of New France
  • Establishment Montreal

    Establishment Montreal (1642), its deep inside Iroquois territory, established to try and convert natives. It’s called Ville-Marie.
  • King Louis the 14th

    King Louis the 14th had taking the throne at the age of five (his power has given to regents…people who ruled in his place). In 1661 he took control of France for himself. He had two objectives: settle wars in Europe, and take command of his colonies.
  • Royal Government

    Royal Government
    The king ended the monopoly and placed New France under the Minister of Marine who at the time was Jean-Baptiste Colbert. He and Louis decided to implement Royal Government in 1663.
  • The First Intercolonial War

    The First Intercolonial War
    The First Intercolonial War Ends with the Treaty of Ryswick 1697.
  • The Second Intercolonial War

    The Second Intercolonial War Ends with the Treaty of Utrecht 1713
  • The Third Intercolonial War

    The Third Intercolonial WarEnds with the Treaty of Aix-la-Chapelle 1748
  • The Seven years War

    The French versus the English from 1756 to 1763. The English win and claim New France as their own.
  • Fall of Louisbourg

    Louisbourg falls again in 1758, clears way to enter the St-Lawrence and attack Quebec
  • Siege of Québec

    Siege of Québec
    The Siege on Québec begins June of 1759.
  • New France

    In New France the people were very autonomous and by 1760 grew to become a distinct set of people called Canadien.
  • Articles of Capitualtion

    1. The French Militia could return home, no one would lose their property
    2. The French Regular military would lay down their arms and leave.
    3. The people could practice the R.C. religion, but the Bishop would have to leave.
    4. The people who stayed would become British Subjects.
  • New France population

    By 1760 New France had 70,000 people.
  • End of Seven Years War

    1763 Treaty of Paris, 7rys war ends. All the Territory known as New France is given to the King of England except two small Islands, (St. Pierre, Miquelon).
  • Royal Proclamation

    1-It gives the King’s new colony a name, The Province of Quebec
    2-It decreases the borders to just around the St-Lawrence river valley. (The rest would be known as Indian Territory)
    3-Put in place a civilian Government to run the new

    Colony: The King appointed a Governor who then appointed members of an Executive Council to advise him.
    4- English Criminal and Civil laws were applied.
    5- Unused land would be divided by the Township System
    6-No new Bishop would be allowed
    7-No Roman Cat
  • Quebec Act

    -Guarantees French Canadian loyalty
    -Enlarges the area of Quebec
    -Denied an elected assembly
    -Appointed council (min.17 members)
    -French civil laws were instated, tithe and seigniorial system are back
    -Test Act Oath Test Oath of Allegiance (swear to king you’re loyal, and could hold office)
  • American Revolution

  • Treaty of Versailles

    The British final defeat was in Yorktown 1781, and a peace treaty was signed in 1783 (Treaty of Versailles).
  • The Constitutional Act

    The Constitutional Act
    The Province of Quebec was split in two pieces called Upper Canada (because it was up river) and Lower Canada (it was down river).
  • The War of 1812

    Britain was at war with Napoleon (France) in Europe and the Americans thought it was a perfect time to take advantage of this.
  • Steam Powered locomotives

    Steam powered locomotives are built in Britain in 1814.
  • Popukation Changes

    By 1815 many poor immigrants were coming from Great Britain (esp. Ireland) in search of a better way of life.
  • British party and Canadian party

    British Party (Chateau Cliques, Tories): Controlled the councils, spent money on public works.
    Parti Canadian (Parti Patriote): Controlled the assembly, power over taxes
  • 92 Resolutions

    A list of demands by the Parti Canadian
  • Act of Union

    British Party (Chateau Cliques, Tories): Controlled the councils, spent money on public works.
    Parti Canadian (Parti Patriote): Controlled the assembly, power over taxes
  • Responsible Government

    The Prime minister would select members of the executive council from the assembly.
  • Responsible Government

    Governor Lord Elgin would be the first to not use his veto powers, and allow the Prime minister(majority holder) to have executive powers.
  • Currency

    Canada creates its own currency 1853
  • Seignural System

    Seignurial System abolished in 1854
  • Reciprocity treaty

    Canada signs a Reciprocity treaty with the USA in 1854.
  • British responcible government

    By the 1860’s all the British colonies have developed Responsible Government.
  • The end of the reciprocity treaty

    After 10 years, in 1864 the Americans said they would not renew the reciprocity treaty.
  • The Quebec conference

    Same members of last time agreed on 72 resolutions that would make the merger possible: A federal system, 24 seats to each colony, assembly elected by "rep by pop" and build a railway between colonies.
  • British North America Act

    Leaders of the 4 colonies meet to make arrangement to release from the British Empire to become a new self-governing colony.
  • NWT

    NWT: was bought from HBC
  • Manitoba

    Manitoba: initially smaller, enlarged in 1912
  • British Columbia

    British Columbia: Joined in return for railway completion
  • PEI

    PEI: It was in serious debt, joined to save economy
  • John A. Macdonald

    John A. Macdonald (Conservative Party) formed a plan to promote national unity: increase customs and duties, build railways and encouraged immigration.
  • Quebec and Canada's population

    From 1871-1901 the population of Qebec & Canada rose 30-49%
  • Alberta and Saskatchewan

    Albt. and Saskt. recent settlement allowed them to be provinces.
  • World War 1

    WW1 lasted from 1914-1918
  • Conscription

    By 1917 there were less volunteers and Conscription was implemented. The french don't like this.
  • Peace Talks

    Canada gets involved in the peace talks 1919 at Versailles, also recognized independently when the League of Nations are formed.
  • The great depression

    The stock market crashed.
  • Statute of Westminister

    The statute of Westminister gave Fed. Gov’t powers over Foreign Affairs.
  • World War 2

    World War 2 lasted from 1939-1945
  • New Found Land

    Nfld. Joined up for economic reasons
  • Yukon Territory

    Yukon Territory: population too small to create a province.