THE Mexican war independence Joseph Qualls

Timeline created by Spanish1
  • war

    (1810–1821) was an armed conflict between the people of Mexico and the Spanish colonial authorities which started on 16 September 1810. The movement, which became known as the Mexican War of Independence, was led by Mexican-born Spaniards, Mestizos and Amerindians who sought independence from Spain. It started as an idealistic peasants' rebellion against their colonial masters, but ended as an unlikely alliance between Mexican ex-royalists and Mexican guerrilla insurgents.
  • Mexican Independence War

    Mexican Independence War
    "--launched the Mexican rebellion with his "Cry of Delores''
  • Mexican War of Independence begins

    Mexican War of Independence begins
    in January 1811, he fled north but was captured and executed. He was followed by other peasant leaders, however, such as José María Morelos y Pavón, Mariano Matamoros, and Vicente Guerrero, who all led armies of native and racially mixed revolutionaries
  • The Battle of Calderon Bridge

    The Battle of Calderon Bridge
    on January 17, 1811, without waiting for reinforcements as Miguel Hidalgo agreed to in his meetings with his fellow officers.
  • Battle of Calderón Bridge

    Battle of Calderón Bridge
    All of the rebel leaders were found guilty and sentenced to death, except for Mariano Abasolo, who was sent to Spain to serve a life sentence. Allende, Jiménez and Aldama were executed on 26 June 1811.
  • Plan of Iguala

    Plan of Iguala
    Iturbide persuaded Guerrero to join his forces in support of the new conservative manifestation of the independence movement. A new army, the Army of the Three Guarantees, was then placed under Iturbide's command to enforce the Plan of Iguala.
  • End of the War

    End of the War
    On August 24, 1821, Spanish Viceroy Juan de O'Donojú signed the Treaty of Córdoba, which approves a plan to make Mexico an independent constitutional monarchy.
  • Treaty of Córdoba

    Treaty of Córdoba
    On 24 August 1821, representatives of the Spanish crown and Iturbide signed the Treaty of Córdoba, which recognized Mexican independence under the terms of the Plan of Iguala. On September 27 the Army of the Three Guarantees entered Mexico City and the following day Iturbide proclaimed the independence of the Mexican Empire, as New Spain was to be henceforth called. The Treaty of Córdoba was not ratified by the Spanish Cortes.
  • Declaration of Independence

    The king of Spain, Ferdinand VII, would also be Emperor of Mexico, but in which both countries were to be governed by separate laws and with their own legislative offices. However, as Spain was eyeing to retake Mexico, it did not accept the offer .
  • Regiment of Celaya

    Regiment of Celaya
    A mass demonstration led by the Regiment of Celaya, which Iturbide had commanded during the war, marched through the streets and demanded that their commander-in-chief accept the throne.