Latin America Independence process timeline

Timeline created by SantosD9C
In History
  • Haiti

    François Dominique Toussaint-Louverture took charge of a slave revolt on the French side of the island of Hispaniola and led it between 1793 and 1802. He faced the French, Spanish and English until his capture, and death, which was in France. In 1803, Jean Jacques Dessalines finally defeated French troops and, in 1804, finally declared independence from Haiti.
  • Colombia

    The independence of Colombia was a political process that occurred from 1809 in the viceroyalty of New Granada and that led to the fall of Spanish sovereignty in this territory. Before the fall of the king the law said that sovereignty reverted to the people who could elect their representatives in said boards. In this way the said vacuum of power generated by the capture of Ferdinand VII by Napoleon.
  • Venezuela

    And in the battle of Carabobo the victory of a Venezuelan gave Venezuela its independence in 1811. The final victory was on June 25, 1821.
  • Argentina

    The independence of Argentina was a decision made in 1816 by the Congress of Tucumán. Argentina's final victory was on February 1, 1820 at the Battle of Cepeda.
  • Chile

    The first meeting was on September 18, 1810, in 1814 a victory was achieved in Rancagua. O'Higgins flees to Mendoza Argentina. San Martín and O'Higgins, army of the Andes. In 1017 O'Higgins and San Martín crossed the Andes Mountains at the Battle of Chacabuco, the realistic victory of Chancha Rayada, Battle of Maipú. Its independence was officially sworn in on February 12, 1818.
  • New Granada

    New Granada
    In 1817 Bolívar, Páez, Piar and along with others reactivated the war, Simón Bolívar faced Morillo and ended up defeating him and putting him in a dungeon. In the battle of Pantano de Vargas in 1819 the independence of New Granada was sealed.
  • Central America

    Central America
    Provinces of Guatemala 1821, United Provinces of Central America Its capital: Guatemala City. In 1824 Central American Federal Republic, from 1838 to 1840 there was a civil war, England invaded Belize in 1841; Panama was part of the Viceroyalty of New Granada in 1904.
  • Peru

    In 1820 San Martín left Chile and on July 5, 1821 he arrived in Lima, San Martín declared independence on July 28, 1821. In 1824 there was the battle of Junin and the battle of Ayacucho.
    The final victory was on December 9, 1824.
  • Guatemala

    Initially, the Captaincy General of Guatemala, assigned to the Viceroyalty of New Spain, encompassed what is now Chiapas and Soconusco in Mexico, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua and Costa Rica, they asked Agustín de Iturbide for military support and signed independence, without disclosing the annexation plan to Mexico. All with particular interests, the independence act was signed in 1821.
  • Panama

    The independence of Panama from the Spanish Crown was on November 28, 1821, Colonel José de Fábrega continued the liberation campaign and through an open town hall and without bloodshed, the Independence of Panama from Spain was proclaimed, after years of the regime Spanish. Francisco de Miranda was one of the first to try to make Panama independent. After Independence, Panama voluntarily decides to join Bolívar's Gran Colombia along with Venezuela, Ecuador and Colombia.
  • Nicaragua

    The independence of Nicaragua occurred during September 1821, when observing how other Spanish regions won the war of independence, Nicaraguan leaders began a negotiation process, by drafting an act of independence that was recognized by the heads of the Crown, the people Who promoted Central American independence were Tomás Ruiz Romero, Miguel Larreynaga.
  • Ecuador

    Quito in 1809 was the first call for independence, but in 1810 there was a massacre in Quito, Guayaquil in 1810 achieved its independence. In 1822 an army led by the triumph of Antonio José de Sucre, Pichincha triumph. The final victory happened on May 24, 1822.
  • Uruguay

    In 1816 San Martín and the united provinces of South America, the federalists opposed the centralists. Uruguay went to war with Brazil in 1825. In 1825 Uruguay declared its independence and again became part of the United Provinces of the Río de la Plata, thanks to the members of the Banda Oriental peoples. Uruguay obtained its victory in 1828.
  • Mexico

    In 1810 there was a wave of famine and Miguel Hidalgo in the town of Dolores, From 1811 to 1815 it was the first constitution of Mexico - Jose Maria Morelos. Agustin Iturbide proclaimed himself emperor in 1812, Lopez de Santa Anna in 1833 was proclaimed president of the Republic. And in 1839 Spain recognized independence.
  • Paraguay

    In 1810 Buenos Aires had 3 unsuccessful attempts, La Asunción spontaneously liberated Paraguay. In 1842 the independence of Paraguay was formally proclaimed.
  • Republica Dominicana

    Republica Dominicana
    The Dominican Republic were subdued in 1822, by Haitian troops but they would regain their independence from Haiti in 1844.
  • Cuba

    Yara's cry was in 1848 after the first war of independence occurred or also called the ten-year war or Great War. Jose Martí organizes the Cuban Revolutionary Party and the United States declares war on Spain in 1898; And finally, Cuba proclaims its independence.
  • Puerto Rico

    Puerto Rico
    The Scream of Lares in 1868. The rebellion is crushed in a short time.Puerto Rico continues within the Spanish system until the war between EE. UU and Spain.
    Puerto Rico is still administered by EE. UU and is currently an associated free state of that country .
    Consequently, it is not an independent country.
  • Brazil

    In 1807 Napoleon invaded Portugal and Juan VI went to take refuge in Brazil, and in 1821 Juan VI returned to Portugal and left his son Pedro Braganza as the governor of Brazil and by 1822 he proclaimed himself emperor of Brazil.
    And by 1889 Portugal obtained its independence.
  • Belize

    It is a sovereign country of America located in the extreme northeast of Central America. It is the only country in Central America whose form of government is organized in a constitutional monarchy, its independence was on September 21, 1981.