The Crusades

Timeline created by steisamu
In History
  • Period: Jan 1, 1000 to Dec 31, 1300

    The Crusades

  • Jan 1, 1096

    The First Crusade

    The First Crusade bagan in 1096 and ended in 1099. It involved the Crusaders capturing the city of Jerusalem.
  • Jan 1, 1147

    The Second Crusade

    The Second Crusade began in 1147 an dended in 1149. This Crusade was unsuccessful in the eyes of the Christians.
  • Jan 1, 1189

    The Third Crusade

    The Third Crusade started in 1189 and ended in 1192. The Third Crusade resulted in a truce between Richard the Lion Hearted and Saladin.
  • Jan 1, 1202

    The Fourth Crusade

    The Fourth Crusade started in 1202 and ended in 1261. To arrive at the Holy Lands, the Crusaders used boats. Instead of re - capturing Jerusalem the Crusaders captured Constinople.
  • Jan 1, 1213

    The Fifth Crusade

    The Fifth Crusade was the attempt to recover the Holy Land by first conquering the powerful Ayyubid state in Egypt.
  • Jan 1, 1228

    The Sixth Crusade

    The Sisxth Crusade paid entirely with the Holy Roman Empire funds to recover Jerusalem.
  • Jan 1, 1248

    The Seventh Crusade

    The Seventh Crusade was aimed at Egypt, the main Muslim power in the area.
  • Jan 1, 1270

    The Eighth Crusade

    The Eighth Crusade was launched in 1270 by King Louis IX of France. This crusade was called just 16 years after the Seventh Crusade. The Mamluks were now very powerful in the Middle East and were conquering the little territory left of the crusaders.