My life- Pysch 201

  • Period: to

    The First Two Years

  • Mother began working full time as well as my father- Psychosocial

    My mother and father both worked full time so I was raised more by my babysitter than my parents. My mother worked days at the hospital and my father worked nights at the county prison.
  • Spoke my first word- Cognitive

    I spoke my first word at this time which is what began my learning expierence. I learned French before I learned English, my first word in English was not until I was nearly four years old.
  • Diagnosed with asthma- Biosocial development

    This caused me to go on constant steriods and be hospitalized for many weeks every year. My immune system was highly compromised which caused me to be ill for most of my early years.
  • Period: to

    The Play Years

    From two years old until I started preschool
  • Had tubes put in my ears- Biosocial

    When I was young, I was a very sick child and I had so many ear infections that eventually they had to put tubes in my ears twice to relieve the pressure, swelling, and fluid. From that and the constant ear infections, my hearing has been impaired.
  • Parents Divorced- Psychosocial

    On Christmas Day, we moved from up north to Livonia when my parents divorced. I was only three so I do not remember much about the day, but it absolutely influenced my life afterwards.
  • Learned English- Cognitive

    Learned English through family and friends before I began preschool in the fall of 1996.
  • Began Preschool- Cognitive

    I began preschool when I was four, which was difficult between my now single mother working full time and barely being able to afford the bills. However, starting this early helped me getting a leg up throughout the rest of my education.
  • Period: to

    The School Years

  • Went through a major growth spurt-Biosocial

    In the year of 1997 I went through a series of growth spurts that not only made me awkwardly tall, but also kept me from sleeping because it was intensely painful.
  • Went to therapy-Psychosocial

    When I was around 7 or 8 years old, I went to see a therapist every Wednesday for two years. My father was abusive and I suffered from night horrors nearly every night which forced me to sleep in my mother's bed because I was too afraid to sleep in my own bed.
  • Period: to


  • First Menstrual Cycle- Biosocial

    This was the day that I had my first period and as any woman knows, this is a very big deal that shows you are changing into a woman.
  • Was treated for an eating disorder- Psychosocial

    Right at the beginning of high school I was diagnosed with anorexia and bulimia and during my freshman year I was treated for these disorders.
  • My mother began teaching me medical information at home- Cognitive

    My mother always knew that I was interested in the medical field, so everyday after school she would sit me down and we would go over muscles, bones, and major organ systems. By age 15 I knew enough to ace a college introduction A and P.
  • Period: to

    Emerging Adulthood

  • Became serious with a potential life partner- Psychosocial

    I met my soon to be husband during the last part of my high school and this is where I really began looking at gender roles and how men and women acted together. Before it was just me and my family, now I was concerned about another person who was not blood related and how their emotions were, not simply my own.
  • Became all state for track- Biosocial

    When I decided to set my goal to become an all state track athlete, everything I did had to change. I had to eat certain foods, do certain workouts, sleep many more hours, and keep well hydrated.
  • Graduated High School- Cognitive

    Graduated from high school Summa Cum Laude.
  • Began taking summer college courses- Cognitive

    I did not take a break after high school, but instead I simply began taking summer college courses right after I graduated. It helped me stay focused and prepared me for what college courses would really be like.
  • Period: to


  • Future husband moved to Florida- Psychosocial

    Due to a wonderful job opportunity, my future husband moved to Florida so for almost one year we were in a long distance relationship. For anyone who has ever been in one, we all know how difficult and emotionally taxing these can be.
  • Moved to Florida- Biosocial

    Due to a lot of stress from moving from Michigan to Florida and the lack of a job for nearly one month, I suffered nutritionally. I was not hungry because of the stress and when I did eat, it was not always the healthiest because of the lack of money that I had coming in.
  • Old Age- Psychosocial

    Although I may be very independent now, I know that once I become older I will need to learn how to rely on people. The family pyramid will shift and I will need to find my proper place in it. Every family has roles for each person and when I become older and febile I will need to learn where mine is.
  • Period: to

    Late Adulthood

  • Begins change of life- Biosocial

    Once a woman reaches around fifty to sixty years of age, they will expierence the change of life also known as metapause. This chagne will not only affect my body in the reproductive way, but also the fact that I will begin to shrink, my bones will become more brittle, and areas of my body will begin to sag. Also, with the change of life I will probably loose my ability to sleep soundly and through the night which will affect my overall health.
  • Retirement in France- Cognitive

    With my family being originally from France, I have always planned to return when I retire. Although I can speak French fluently, there are many aspects of the language that has changed and I will need to learn the modern vocabulary. Also, the culture in France is entirely different and I will need to relearn the proper ettiquete expected there.
  • Death

    I will be 90 years old when I die