Joe Jankowski timeline

Timeline created by jjankows
  • My birth

    I was born at Oakwood Hospital in Dearborn at 9:38 PM, nearly 2 weeks late. I weighed 8 pounds 14 ounces and was 21.5 inches.
  • Period: to

    Birth and first 2 years

  • Language development: Babble

    Began babbling constantly, using "mama" and "dada" and other sounds but no actual words
  • First Christmas: Emotions

    My first Christmas, where smiles, laughter, excitement, and even anger were displayed in opening presents.
  • Language Development: Words

    I said my first recognized word (boat), likely due to the mobile of boats above my crib and my parent's repetition of the word.
  • First steps

    Began walking on my own without assistance
  • Period: to

    The Play Years

  • Interest in reading

    By the time I was 3, I was very interested in looking at books and reading out loud, with and without help from my parents.
  • Ice Skating

    My parents took me ice skating for the first time. Although very little skating was done independently by me this was my introduction to the sport I would play for 12 years.
  • First day of school

    I attended my first day of kindergarten, where I was at school for half of a normal school day.
  • First "kiss"

    In learning the sex defferences in boys and girls, there was a girl in kindergarten that would kiss me on the cheek quite frequently.
  • First ice hockey game

    My first organized hockey game as a member of a team
  • Period: to

    The School Years

  • Reading and math class

    Fourth grade was the first time we "switched classes" for reading and math. I was placed in the highest level in reading, and the second highest level in math (both out of four levels).
  • Learning about politics

    I can remember my father talking to me and teaching me about differences about the presidential candidates, in what they stood for and what they believed. I never had heard about politics before this election and it helped shape many of the ideas I still have today.
  • A long bike ride

    A couple friends wanted to go for a bike ride further away than any of us were allowed to go, and I went along with it to fit in avoid their teasing. My one friend ended up getting a flat tire and we had to call his parents from a gas station to come get us. My parents of course found out and I was in more trouble than I had ever been before.
  • Body size

    Upon entering 5th grade, I was quite skinny at 4 feet 9 inches and 77 pounds. I was very active in baseball and hockey and did not own a video game system while growing up.
  • Period: to

    Adolescence

  • Principal's List

    In the first quarter report card I made the Principal's List for the first time, receiving markings of all A or A-. I repeated this feat around three or four more times up through eighth grade.
  • Junior Olympics

    I was chosen, among others, to represent my school in Junior Olympics, an academic competition with neighboring schools.
  • First kiss

    Following a short school day, some friends and a girl I was exchanging written notes with went to eat lunch. We ended up kissing and it was my first real kiss.
  • Offered cigarettes

    I was out with a friend during the summer, riding bikes by a small stream and we saw a couple boys who played baseball with us. They offered us cigarettes, but we declined because our parents smoke and we are both disgusted by the habit. I remember being surprised that these kids I knew were smoking like it was no big deal.
  • First shave

    My father showed me how to shave off my facial hair that had been developing, and I did so for the first time.
  • Cedar Point trip

    Following 8th Grade graduation, a group of friends went to Cedar Point with our parents and spent the night. We were on our own most of the time and I feel it really solidified our friendship since some of us were going to attend different high schools.
  • First cross country meet

    I ran cross country in high school from sophomore through senior year. Running is still a large part of my life as I train and compete recreationally and have since high school and plan to throughout life. Choosing to run in high school was a small decision that plays a major role in my life (possibly more than anything else in high school or adolescence).
  • Driver's License

    I received my driver's license after passing the road and written tests on my 16th birthday, and took my first drive by myself to my friend's house a mile away.
  • First long-term relationship

    My first real girlfriend and I started dating, a relationship that lasted around 2 years.
  • High school graduation

    I graduated with honors from high school, ready to begin college at University of Michigan-Dearborn.
  • Period: to

    Emerging Adulthood

  • Continued lifting weights/running

    I lifted weights and ran 5-6 days a week following high school, and cared about my body image and how I looked to others. I always felt I could control how my body looked and wanted it to look the best (at least for my first 2-3 years of college I felt this way).
  • First solo road trip

    For my first college spring break my girlfiend and I went to Frankenmuth and spent the weekend there. It was the first time I had taken such a trip with a girlfriend or stayed the night in a hotel without my parents.
  • Transfer to Central Michigan University

    Knowing that I wanted to pursue Athletic Training as a profession, I transfered to Central Michigan University.
  • Dietary habits changed

    Upon transfering to Central Michigan, I had to change my eating habits as I was living in the dorms and ate there or else on my own. I had been accustomed to eating a home-cooked meal nearly every night.
  • Meeting my future wife

    I met my future wife through a mutual friend at Central Michigan, although we did not begin dating until June of 2004.
  • A close friend getting married

    One of my closest friends got married at 21, and I began thinking more about marriage and finding the right woman for me.
  • Professional independence as a student

    I began an athletic training rotation for school where I was allowed a greater amount of independence. I was able to apply what I was learning in the classroom and focus on how I was going to operate once I graduated.
  • Begin my career

    I began my first day of work for the University of Michigan as an Athletic Trainer.
  • Period: to

    Adulthood

  • Blood pressure/diet

    At a routine visit to the doctor, my blood pressure is slightly elevated, especially for someone as young as me who exercises regularily. Even though it is not abig concern and my blood pressure was lower on subsequent readings I had co-workers perform, my doctor discusses sodium intake with me. I had always avoided foods with high fat content but paid no attention to sodium. I changed the foods I bought and consumed and continue to limit sodium intake as much as possible.
  • My sister moves to Florida

    Following her marriage, my sister moved to Florida, a move that has greatly affected our relationship and family structure.
  • Marriage

    I marry the woman who I am deeply in love with, after dating for four and a half years.
  • Continuing education

    I began my first college course in almost five years, in completing prerequisites in order to apply for Physicial Assistant programs.
  • Physical appearance/weight

    I began to notice it was more difficult to keep weight off without exercise although my diet had not changed. I realize my body is changing even though I am still young; it is just different than it was five years ago.
  • First child

    The due date for my wife for the birth of our first child.
  • Last day as an athletic trainer

    When I begin a Physician Assistant program, I will need to stop working as an athletic trainer, a position I have held for seven years.
  • Begin Physician Assistant Graduate Program

    Ideal time to begin my schooling to become a Physcian Assistant.
  • Birth of second child

    Ideal time to have a second child
  • Graduate/Re-locate

    Graduate as a Physcian Assistant and move to the Traverse City area to begin a new career with my family
  • Purchase a Corvette

    I would like to buy a yellow Corvette convertible, not because I am having a midlife crisis, but because I have always wanted one and at this point in my life can hopefully afford one.
  • Run the Western States 100 Mile Race

    Devote time and training for a challenging 100-mile ultradistance running event. This is one of my lifetime goals I would like to accomplish.
  • Parents 80th Birthdays

    My parents will turn 80 within 4 days of each other. This will be a time when my sister and I will likely fulfill more of a caregiver role with them as they age.
  • Retire

    I would like to retire when I am 60 years old. This would be the day 36 years ago I started my first full-time position.
  • Travel

    I would like to travel extensively with my wife and children if possible following retirement.
  • Birth of grandchild

    Possible time for the birth of a grandchild.
  • Begin caring for grandchild

    My wife and I may care for our grandchild, if both of his or her parents work, until the child begins to attend school.
  • Period: to

    Late Adulthood

  • Writing

    I begin writing short stories, an interest I never had time to pursue, and one that keeps me me intellectually engaged.
  • Knee replacement surgery

    I may likely require one or both of my knees replaced due to my bone anatomy and running for so many years.
  • Macular degeneration restricts driving

    At age 81, my driver's license is revoked due to progressive macular degeneration
  • Short-term memory decline

    I may begin to notice a decrease in my short-term memory and become more forgetful.
  • Move to assisted living community

    My wife and I may move to an assisted living community to make life easier on us.
  • Death

    Based on calculations, my predicted death year at age 89.