• 7.3 Major Life Event

    I remember getting sick with meningitis & it was the scariest moment that I have ever experienced when I was 8. I was hospitalized for that and stayed for 2ish weeks. After that, I was very terrified of going to the hospital because I had to have 3 trials of getting an IV in me. Being admitted has had an emotional & traumatizing effect on me. I was this close to dying from that. I never really cope with that, I am still terrified. I would have to remind myself to breathe & say it's okay
  • 2.2- Genetics Limits

    I think it will work when I am 10 years old due to the telomeres will start to shorten. When our telomeres are used up, it will stop our cells from dividing. I might be able to slow down the loss of the telemeres and it is best to do during that age because the earlier the better. I should be very active
  • 1.1 The Beginning

    I think I have become an adult when I was 18 and a freshman in Gally. It is because I had gotten my first job as a cheerleading assistant coach in the fall same time as I started college and had saved money. I was able to purchase my first car in the spring of my freshman year and I had gotten a credit card. I had bills to pay which were a credit card, phone & car insurance. I felt so adult, responsible, and independent.
  • 6.3 Intimacy

    In one of classmate's video, there was intimacy example. It explained how the grandma met her husband in high school. I am in romance relationship currently. I met my boyfriend at Gallaudet through friends. The intimacy stage is the ability to make a commitment to others, to love, etc.
  • 2.1 Oxidative Damage

    Oxidative damage in cells is associated with aging so I should start making certain lifestyle and dietary changes to prevent the oxidative damage to occur as I age. I started to take vitamins every day and it is identified as antioxidants/substances that can reduce oxidative damage. "A number of vitamins and vitamin-like substances have been identified as antioxidants, substances with properties that protect against oxidative damage" (Bjorklund & Earles, 2020)
  • 3.1 Working Memory

    Noticed that my working memory has started to decline, I am in my 20s. "There is a much more substantial decline with age in working memory (Berg & Sternberg, 2003; Hale et al., 2011) than in short-term memory." (pg. 80). My IADL has challenges. The challenges that I experienced, such as it affects my learning, hold more digits than letters, & more short words than long words & many more challenges! Compensate by chunk information into smaller bites, work on visualization skills, active reading
  • 7.2 Transitions

    My self-chosen activity was doing exercise for an hour daily from Monday to Friday and doing systematic prayers daily for every meal were the triggers of my transition. Exercise has boosted my endurance and I can have more energy to tackle daily chores and self-esteem as well! Praying spread tranquility and psychological comfort in my soul and my passion and determination have sharpened again to work and turn to live. I am grateful that I am able to change to what is best for myself & my future!
  • 2.3- My current healthy lifestyle

    Started to workout 5 times per week(love it). I also tried to eat healthy foods & follow calorie intake but failed. Hard to do that due to living with multiple family members. I dont eat 2-4 fruits or 3-5 servings of vegetables daily. I only do an hour of workout daily. Never smoked cigarettes & I am clean from drinking alcohol/smoking marijuana for a year. I used to drink and go to parties every weekend at gally. I definitely do not use sunscreen consistently but do use it when going to beach.
  • 4.3 Adult Attachment Style

    From my results, it indicated that I scored 4.50 on anxiety and 1.50 on avoidance. I am preoccupied and tend to have highly conflictual relationships. My boyfriend doesn't like too clingy, unfortunately, I am very clingy. I hate to be apart from him. However, I am working on that. INTERNAL WORKING MODEL OF ATTACHMENT RELATIONSHIPS, I can rely on my boyfriend. We both are secure, meet each other's needs, understand each other, etc.
  • 7.1 Fowler

    I think stage 3 best suits me today. It is because I am starting to be committed and follow the Christian path. I was not religious at all but, I now am and it is making my life more stable. I promised myself to start going to churches as soon as possible. I believe that this "There is an openness here to paradox, a moving away from fixed truth toward a search for balance, not only of self and other but also of mind and emotion, of rationality and ritual." to be the changes to take over
  • 6.1 My RIASEC Type

    I scored the highest occupational interest in social, second in conventional & third in artistic. The personality traits that correspond to my types are definitely true of me! This is consistent with what jobs I'm interested in pursuing which are; Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education, Training & Development Specialists, Teaching Assistants. All of those are the jobs that I wanted/thought of and fit me!
  • 4.1 Young Adult Role Transition

    Around 25s, I will transition into young adulthood when I get married and will have children during that period of time. I expect that to happen when I am in my 25s because I feel that it will be the appropriate age and right timing. The challenges as I get married would be; the relationship will be more committed, gained responsibilities such as bills with my partner and cohabitation. When I have children, I will have more responsibilities and take care of my children, learn how to be a parent
  • 6.4 Conscientious

    Goals and values are recognized throughout the conscientious period. In another classmate's video, it explained how a person has decided what to do with their future and what they want to be. I believe that I will be more accurate and know what I really want to do with my career after several experiences of jobs.
  • 6.2 Super’s Stages

    I choose the establishment stage. This is the time during which I, having obtained a suitable place in the chosen field of work, strives to protect the initial position and seek opportunities for advancement. I will know and choose the proper/best job career from my experiences of careers and use that to develop my new skills for the next proper and the wanted career. I will align my choices of careers and settle down with the wanted career after obtaining the first job.
  • 4.2 Older Adult Role Transition

    Since I want to have children in the future, I predict and I hope that I will have grandchildren! So, I will transition into the older adult role to a grandma to my grandchildren. I will build relationships and spend time with my grandchildren. As I age, my health and memory will decline so I might end up not being able to take care of myself and live alone. I will try to cope with that by exercising regularly, eating right, and be highly active.
  • 2.4- Potential consequences of my lifestyle

    I feel like I am sensitive to gaining weight so I may be at risk of obesity in the future. I am struggling to keep up with working out daily. And I do not really get regular checkups, maintain diet eating etc. I don't think I'm at risk for Alzheimer's disease or cancer(i cant confirm that) because I do not smoke any tobacco nor drink. However, I am starting to workout 5 times daily again so that will help me to prevent some things. I want to try eating healthy again
  • 3.2 Short-term Memory

    According to the textbook, my short-term memory will begin to decline as I turn the 70s. "Short-term memory shows relatively small declines with age through the 70s and 80s (Gregoire & Van der Linden, 1997) & remains relatively stable through the mid-90s (Bäckman et al., 2000)." (pg. 80). I will face challenges in both ADL and IADL, it will be difficult for me to live alone without daily help, which impacts my ability to care for myself. I could compensate by exercise, eat healthy foods, & more
  • 8.1 The End

    Carina was born in Mineola, New York, on July 26, 2000, to Cherilyn & Edward Traina. She went to Maryland School for the Deaf High School. She continued her education at Gallaudet University in Washington, D.C., where she earned a bachelor's degree in psychology in 2021 & a master's degree in Deaf Studies in 2024. She loved cheerleading so much. Carina has touched so many hearts & would always be smiling every day. Carina has two loving siblings, Jorina & CJ. She will be sorely missed.