The birth, life, and death of Carrie Laubernds

By ay8556
  • Prenatal Development and Birth

    Prenatal Development and Birth
    9 May 1988 I was born at 8:31am at Oakwood Main Hospital in Dearborn, MI. Which leads me to believe I was conceived sometime around the beginning of August 1987? I weighed in at 8 lbs 8 oz and was 21 ½ inches long.
  • The First Two Years: Biosocial Development

    Biosocial - The First Two Years
    9 Aug 1988 1988-1990 When I was born I had black hair and brown eyes. As I got older my hair had an auburn tint but my eyes stayed brown. I was a very colicky baby. My mother told me I was the worst baby ever, and sometimes she would have to call her sister over to help because she couldn’t get me to sleep and my dad was working.
  • The First two Years: Cognitive Development

    Cognitive - The First Two Years
    26 Oct 1988 1988-1990: In order to get me to fall asleep my mom had to rock me in her rocking chair because I was so colicky. My first word was “dada” and “dum-dum”
  • The First Two Years: Psychosocial Development

    1988-1990: When I was born I was the youngest of three, and the only girl. My dad was working afternoons and my mom worked during the day. My mom went part time so she could spend more time at home with us kids. When she did have to work, I went to our church nursery.
  • The Play Years: Cognitive Development

    Cognitive - The Play Years
    I always wanted to follow my two older brothers around and do what they were doing. I loved being outside playing sports, running, swimming, or just playing with sidewalk chalk. When I was 3 years old I started preschool. I remember everyone fighting over who would sit with Nicole. After school I would go to my Aunt’s house with my cousin until my mom got off work. One day after learning how to dial 911 for emergency, my cousin and I were playing with the phone. After
  • The Play Years: Biosocial Development

    Biosocial - The Play Years I was around the same height and weight as the other girls in my class at this time. My favorite things to eat were macaroni and cheese, peanut butter and bananas and fruit. When I was about 4 we took a trip to Georgia to visit family. My parents and brothers went to the store and I stayed with my uncle because I was napping. I woke up from my nap and wandered by the pool and fell in. Luckily my uncle saw me and jumped in to save me
  • The Play Years: Psychosocial Development

    Psychosocial - The Play Years I just started kindergarten. At recess the girls would run away from the boys because they had “cooties”. I got a note sent home from school saying my teacher has to remind me that not everyone has two older brothers and I was being too rough on the playground. If it was my fault my mom would make me go back and apologize. My parents raised me in an authoritative household.
  • The School Years: Cognitive

    Cognitive - The School Years
    I was always a good student. I loved reading and spelling. I won the city spelling bee in 7th grade. In 4th grade I had a rough year. I had to get glasses, had my appendix almost rupture and had to have surgery on my ears. Even though I missed a lot of school, I still did very well.
  • The School Years: Biosocial

    Biosocial - The School Years
    I started to grow a little bit faster than the rest of the kids in my class. I was one of the tallest kids in my class. For this reason I was bullied and called names because I was so tall. My self-esteem suffered because of this. I was very good at sports such as basketball, cheerleading, volleyball, and track & field. I was also excelling in spelling and math. Around 6th grade I discovered Harry Potter, and I loved it.
  • The School Years: Psychosocial

    Psychosocial - The School Years
    I had attended private school with 80 kids k-8. My class had 10 kids, 6 boys and four girls. We were all close friends but I had one best friend. I tried to get along with everyone. I have a nuclear family and we are far from dysfunctional. My parents provided me with all the basic necessities and then some. They have always been there for me, encouraging me and supporting me in everything that I do. My parents were always involved in school activities and still
  • Biosocial- Adolescence

    During this stage of adolescence I was pretty much average with all the other girls in my class. The only thing was that I was a little bit taller than most of the girls and a lot taller than most of the boys. I started puberty about the same time as most of the girls in my class. I was very skinny. I was just average other than my height. I never did drugs during this time.
  • Cognitive- Adolescence

    I never really cared about my appearance. I am very athletic and played basketball, volleyball, cheerleading, and did track and field. When I got to high school I played basketball, volleyball, and softball. I was a good student always had my homework done always showed up to class, and I always received A’s. If I would have done worse, my parents wouldn’t let me play sports.
  • Psychosocial- Adolescence

    I have always gotten along pretty well with my parents even during my teenage years. They were very involved in the school and with my sports. They trusted me and I never broke that trust. They knew I cared too much about my sports to go out and party. In the 10th grade, I started dating my first serious boyfriend, and we stayed together for almost 5 years.
  • Biosocial- Emerging Adulthood

    During this time, I attended Wayne State University, and also played volleyball there. I never had problems with my weight, and I was very health conscious. My first year of college was a terrible experience. I went from never having to study and being able to play sports and hang out to not being able to balance sports and school. I was not prepared for the large classes and the university lifestyle.
  • Cognitive- Emerging Adulthood

    In September 2006 my grandma passed away. I also broke up with my boyfriend of almost 5 years. In 2007 I began having terrible stomach pains. I went to the hospital on numerous occasions, but they never gave me a straight answer to what it was. These problems kept me from school, and from playing volleyball. Finally in July 2007 they finally said it was my gallbladder. I met a guy in one of my classes and we began dating October 2007. We are still together today.
  • Psychosocial- Emerging Adulthood

    I have been at my job for about a year now and I am miserable. I found another job that was more stable and paid better. About three months into my new job and a year of being with my boyfriend, I found out I was pregnant. After the fall semester I decided to take a break from school so we could find a place to live and save money for our baby. We moved in together in December 2008. I had a wonderful pregnancy and we had an awesome support system. My son, Alexander, was born on August 1st, 2009.
  • Biosocial- Adulthood

    By the time I am 30 I hope to be graduated from school and working at a job I love. I also hope to be married to my wonderful boyfriend and father of my child. I would like to see more children in the future as well. I did for a brief period of 3 years smoke when I was younger and I hope this does not have effects on my health later on. I have terrible eyesight now, so I can see it declining more in the future.
  • Cognitive- Adulthood

    With my bachelors and my now husbands’ masters (and law degree) we make quite a living, and we are able to provide our children with a comfortable life. We will send them to private school, and have a trust fund set up for them. I would also like to see them playing an instrument and sports.
  • Psychosocial- Adulthood

    The pattern in both sides of my family is not a long life. Most of my family pass in their 60’s or early 70’s. I hope to be close to my two older brothers so we can have each other when our parents pass. My husband will be my rock and will help me through each stage of life. I have the most amazing friends who are always by my side.
  • Late Adulthood- Psychosocial

    My profession has no longer allowed me to work. I have become too weak and old to lift patients like I used to. I am now retired. I walk everyday to keep moving, and am now more involved in my grandchildrens activities.
  • Late Adulthood- Biosocial

    I am now 65 years old and have just celebrated my 40th wedding annivesary. I now have 5 children, and 8 grandchildren. At the age of 60 I was diagnosed with breast cancer, but am now a survivor. My health is better than ever.
  • Late Adulthood- Cognitive

    My health has started to deteriorate. Although my husband of 50 years is still with me, and also a year older, his health is tip top. I have been diagnosed with stage 3 cervical cancer, The prognosis is not good.
  • Epilogue- Death and Dying

    The day of my death. At the age of 85, I lost my battle with cervical cancer. I am survived by my husband of 60 years, my 5 children, 8 grandchildren, and 5 great grandchildren. I am rememebered for my years of work as a Radiologist and work as a Radiation Therapist.