Republic of texas

Texas 1836 - 1845

  • Battle of the Alamo

    Battle of the Alamo
    After a 13 day siege on the Alamo from the Mexican army. William B. Travis, James Bowie and their approximately 180 men all died defending the Alamo. Davy Crockett and seven other men are believed to have survived the battle. However, they were executed by order of Santa Anna. A few women, children and Travis's slave Joe survived and were able to go to Gonzales where they were able to give account for what happened at the Alamo.
  • Period: to

    Interim President David G. Burnet

    David G. Burnet was not elected as President of Texas. He served as an interim until the government of Texas could be formed and an election held for the first official President of Texas.
  • Fort Goliad Massacre

    Fort Goliad Massacre
    After retreating from Fort Goliad, Colonel James W. Fannin and his troops encountered the Mexican army. After a brief battle that took place at the Fort Goliad chapel, the Texans were captured by the Mexican army. Three to four hundred Texan prisoners were executed on March, 27th 1836 after word from General Santa Anna gave to order for the execution.
  • Battle of San Jacinto

    Battle of San Jacinto
    The battle was delayed much to the disapproval of the Texans waiting for orders from Sam Houston. At 3:30 the Texas army began to advance on the quiet Mexican army. Santa Ana and his men were resting after a long night and mach to San Jacinto. 18 minuets later the Texans had control of the Mexican camp. However, this had not officially ended the war and secure victory for Texas.
  • Victory for Texas

    Victory for Texas
    Houston was injured lying under an oak tree ordered for a search of the prisoners for Santa Anna. knowing that if he had gotten away, he would be able to reach the main army would mark the end for the rebellion. The search party brought a prisoner to Houston. Whom was then saluted by the other prisoners as "El Presidente." Now identified Houston spared the life of Santa Anna for a surrender, marking victory for the rebellion.
  • Period: to

    President Sam Houston

    Sam Houston is elected the first official president of the Republic of Texas on October 22, 1836.
  • Texas Recognized by U.S

    President Andrew Jackson nominated Alcee La Branche as Minister to Texas, this action formally recognized Texas Independence.
  • Period: to

    President Mirabeau B. Lamar

    Vice President Lamar is elected the second President of Texas
  • New Capital Announcement

    New Capital Announcement
    The capital of Texas was moved from Houston to what is now current day Austin, Texas. The capital was named after Stephen F. Austin who is considered the "Father of Texas" by his colonization of Texas with the "old three hundred." This was done under the Lamar administration. Lamar and his cabinet moved there on October 17th, 1839.
  • Period: to

    President Sam Houston Second Term

    President Houston is reelected as the third President of Texas. He was not the second because he was not eligible to run for back to back terms due to the laws about Texas Presidencies.
  • Period: to

    President Anson Jones

    Anson Jones was elected as the fourth and last official President of Texas before the annexation to the United States.
  • Texas receives statehood

    Texas receives statehood
    President James K. Polk signed the Texas Admission Act officially making Texas a state of the United States. This process began on January 24, 1843 after Houston wrote Charles Elliot a friendly letter in which he commented that nineteenths of Texans who talked to him favored annexation.