Revolution/Republic Timeline

Timeline created by tdentley
In History
  • The Alamo

    Led by General Antonio Lopez de Santa Anna, a Mexican force began a siege of the Alamo.
  • Washington-on-the-Brazos

    Texas Convention members established a Constitution for the Republic of Texas and declared its Independence from Mexico. **Texas Revolution. (n.d.). Retrieved October 16, 2019, from
  • Interim President

    David G. Burnet elected Interim president of the Republic of Texas.
  • Goliad Massacre

    Mexican general Santa Anna ordered an execution of 300-400 Texan prisoners at Fort Goliad. ****Presidio Nuestra Señora de Loreto de la Bahía---American Latino Heritage: A Discover Our Shared Heritage Travel Itinerary. (n.d.). Retrieved November 16, 2019, from
  • San Jacinto

    Led by Sam Houston, Texian army defeats Mexican army at the Battle of San Jacinto.
  • Treaties of Velasco

    Two peace treaties signed by Santa Anna and David Burnet. Violated by both sides the treaties were voided and Mexico did not recognize Texas' independence.
  • New President

    Sam Houston elected president after Burnet resigns.
  • Lamar Administration

    Mirabeau B. Lamar takes presidential office.
  • Houston returns

    Sam Houston becomes president for second time.
  • Annexation

    Texas was annexed by the United States of America. It became the 28th state.