Allie's Lifespan

  • Date of Birth

    I was born on August 5th, 1987 in St. Louis, MO. I was born 5 weeks prematurely, I weighed just under 5 pounds. I spent 3 weeks in the ICU.
  • First 2 Years: Biosocial

    At about 3 months, most babies should spend 17 or more hours a day sleeping. I probably spent 17 or more hours a day crying. I was an extremely collicky baby and spent little time sleeping. My parents blame this on being born so early, they both slept whenever they could.
  • First 2 Years: Cognitive

    At 12 months old, I would have been in Stage 5 of the sensorimotor intelligence. It was definitely a time of active exploration for me. My favorite subject was the family dog, Barney. I always pulled Barney's tail (poor dog) and even tried to put dog food in my mouth once before my mother came to my rescue.
  • First 2 Years: Psychosocial

    I would say I definitely went through attachment during the first two years. I think I had type B, secure attachment. I felt comfortable and confident.
  • Play Years: Biosocial

    At this stage of my life, I did become a very picky eater. I did outright refuse to eat certain foods all together. Usually green foods. I did not outgrow being a picky eater really until I was in my late teens.
  • Play Years: Cognitive and Psychosocial

    On August 18th, 1992 my baby brother was born. At the age of 5, I was not happy about it. Emotionally, I remember feeling like I was losing my parents to him. A 5 year old does not understand the needs of an infant so I was always fighting for their attention. I also broke my leg at 5 years old from playing too rough. I jumped off a jungle gym because some other kids did and it did not work out well for me.
  • School Years: Biosocial/ Cognitive

    This definitely is a healthy time, and my parents did try to keep me very physically active. I participated in: soccer, ballet, tap, ice skating, and more. I did start becoming bilingual in elementary school. My elementary school starts teaching foreign language in first grade. In elementary school, I learned a lot of basic words in French, I still remember a lot of them today.
  • School Years: Psychosocial

    The peer group did start becoming very important to me. I played with the neighborhood kids almost everyday. At school, girls started to have crushes on boys and rejection certainly existed in the form of who was sitting at what lunch table.
  • Adolescence: Biosocial

    I definitely started feeling the effects of puberty at around 12 years old. At this point., certain crowds at school did start doing drugs, I always avoided those crowds and was not friends with them.
  • Adolescence: Cognitive

    At this point, I was 13 and i was in an adolescent thinking mindframe. I did truly think that everyone noticed what I was wearing. I started to become more concerned with what brands of clothes I was wearing.
  • Adolescence

    My parents divorce was finalized on this day, I moved with my mother and brother into a new house, although we stayed in the same city and school district, it was still a big adjustment., At this age, I was confused about my identity, and the divorce of my parents certainly did not help. As an adolescent, the only thing I may have done to break the law is drink a little bit underage. I did turn into a law abiding adult, not a life course delinquent!
  • Emerging Adulthood: Biosocial

    At this age, I did worry excessively about my weight like most women.
  • Emerging Adulthood: Cognitive

    I graduated from Northville High School, on June 5th 2005. I was happy to graduate, and move on to the next stage of my life. I started college that following fall.
  • Emerging Adulthood: Psychosocial

    I believe this is the phase I am currently in. I am 22, I know who I am and what I believe in. I think I know it all, but sometimes I feel like I dont. I do work, but my current job will not be my lifelong career. I do live with a "romantic partner" Just because we live together does not mean I am interested in getting married for a few more years. Although the idea of becoming a real grown up scares me a lot, it does not push me over the edge.
  • Adulthood: Biosocial

    The book identifies an adult as someone who is between 25-65. So in 3 years, I will become a real adult. A far as the aging process, I currently believe I am done growing. In 3 years, I cant imagine myself looking a whole lot different then I do now. As far as healthy habits: I do not currently smoke at all or drink excessively and am positive I will not 3 years from now. I do not work out daily because I work and go to school full time so it is very difficult for me to find the time.
  • Adulthood: Cognitve/Psychosocial

    By this point I will be 26 years old, which is 4 years from now. I really hope I am done with school at this point, but who knows. As far as intimacy goes, I hope my boyfriend and I will have been married for a couple years by this point because we will have been dating for 7 years. I am sure I will have a close relationship with my mother, brother, boyfriend, and friends. I also hope around this point that I will have had a biological child.
  • Late Adulthood: Biosocial

    I do plan on being a happy, independent healthy senior. I plan to keep myself active and moving to keep myself busy
  • Late Adulthood: Psychosocial

    I plan to keep myself busy in retirement and keep in close contact with friends and family so I do not get lonely and depressed.
  • Late Adulthood: Cognitive

    I think I will be a senior that has a life review, and recounts the past. I had somewhat of a rough childhood emotionally but I have really grown from those experiences
  • Epilogue

    I picked the age 94 for a death year based on the "Life Expectancy" calculator that we completed for a discussion board.