Railway Ministers in UPA 2

Timeline created by Ayesha Minhaz
  • Mamata Banerjee

    Mamata Banerjee
    Mamata Banerjee was the railway minister of UPA-II government from May-2009 till she resgined from the post in May-2011 to take over as Chief Minister of West Bengal.
  • Manmohan Singh

    Manmohan Singh
    Manmohan Singh held the Railways portfolio for a brief period after the resignation of Mamata Banerjee.
  • Dinesh Trivedi

    Dinesh Trivedi
    The Member of Parliament from All India Trinamool Congress(TMC), Dinesh Trivedi was forced to resign after Mamata Banerjee asked Prime Minister to dismiss him and give the portfolio to Mukul Roy(Member of Parliament from TMC). The controversy arose due to the Railway Budget 2012 in which Trivedi announced all-over hike in passenger fare. He resigned in March 2012.
  • Mukul Roy

    Mukul Roy
    Mukul Roy and five other All India Trinamool Congress MPs resigned protesting agianst UPA's decision of allowing FDI in retail.
  • C P Joshi

    C P Joshi
    Union Road and Highways Minister and Rajasthan's senior Congress leader C P Joshi was given the additional charge of Railway Ministry after the resgination of Mukul Roy.
  • Pawan Kumar Bansal

    Pawan Kumar Bansal
    Congress MP from Chandiarh, Pawan Kumar Bansal took over as Union Minister of Railways after the cabinet reshuffle. All India Trinamool Congress's withdrawal of support to UPA 2 government led to the reshuffle.