Civil War

  • The South Secedes

    The South Secedes
    When Abraham Lincoln a known opponent of slavery, was elected President, the South Carolina government perceived a threat. Calling a state convention, the delegates of South Carolina voted to remove South Carolina from the Union known as the United States of America. The secession of South Carolina was followed by the secession of six more states-Mississippi, Florida,Alabama,Georgia, Louisiana and Texas.