Australia timeline

  • Robert Hawke is Elected

    Robert Hawke is Elected
    Labor under Prime Minister Bob Hawke retained goverment
  • Paul Keating is elecred

    Paul Keating is elecred
    In an exchange of Labor Party leadership, Paul Keating became Prime Minister succedding Bob Hawke, who left parliament on 20 Feburary 1992 after 12 years representing the deat of Wills.
  • John Howead

    John Howead
    The first Coalition goverment for 13 years was sworn in, with John Howard as Prime Minister
  • Kevin Rudd Elected

    Kevin Rudd Elected
    Minsters of the new labour govermen led by Kelvin Rudd, with Julia Gillard Australis first female deputy Prime Minister, sworn in by the GoverGernal
  • Jlia Gillard

    Jlia Gillard the closest election result since 1961 produces a hung Parliament intense negotiations ebable labor to form a minority goverment with the support of four cross-bench members