Screen shot 2013 10 06 at 13.27.31

Tracking Nicki Minaj Throughout her Career

  • Hoodstars

    Minaj started her rapping career by being signed with Brooklyn group Full Force in a foursome group called "Hoodstars" where they recorded the entrance song for WWE Diva Victoria titled "Don't Mess With". The song was featured on the compilation album ThemeAddict: WWE The Music, Vol.6. Despite this, Minaj left the group unsatisfied with their lack of success.
  • Getting Signed

    Whilst Minaj was managed by Debra Antney she uploaded some of her songs onto Myspace and sent some of her songs to people in the music industry. Fendi (CEO of the Brooklyn label Dirty Money Entertainment) saw Minaj's music and contacted her then signed her to his label. Under this label, Minaj appeared on the popular street DVD "The Come Up Volume 11" that featured underground rappers from New York. This is the stage where Maraj got her stage name of 'Nicki Minaj'.
  • First Mixtape

    Playtime Is Over was Minaj's first mixtape released with Dirty Money Records.
  • Second Mixtape

    Sucka Free was released under the label Be which led her to win Female Artist of the Year award at the 2008 Underground Music Awards.
  • Opening act on America's Most Wanted Tour

  • Third Mixtape

    Beam Me Up Scotty was released under Trapaholics Records which received positive coverage on BET and MTV.
  • Song feature

    Minaj appeared on Yo Gotti's 5 Star Chick video where she gained attention within the urban genre.
  • Record deal with Young Money Entertainment

    August was when Minaj signed a record deal with Young Money Entertainment, with distribution from Universal Motown Records after Lil Wayne discovered Minaj on The Come Up DVD.
  • Bedrock feature

    Minaj rapped a solo verse in 'BedRock' which reached number 2 on the Billboard Hot 100.
  • Song feature

    Featured on Robin Thicke's single Shakin It 4 Daddy.
  • Up Out My Face feature

    Featured on Mariah Carey's 'Up Out My Face' and its music video.
  • Roger That video

    Featured on 'Roger That' although that only charted to number 56.
  • Massive Attack

    A buzz single 'Massive Attack' was released which had its own music video.
  • Your Love

    'Your Love' was released in August as the first official single from her debut album, peaking at 14 on the Billboard Hot 100, 7 on the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs chart and topped the Rap Songs chart.
  • Check It Out release

  • Right Thru Me release

  • New Record Set

    Minaj became the first female solo artist to have 7 songs on the Billboard Hot 100 chart simultaneously.
  • Pink Friday

    Minaj debuted her studio album Pink Friday where it reached the number one spot on the US Billboard 200, going even further to be certified platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA).
  • Pink Friday Success 1

    The most successful single from the album was 'Super Bass' and it was only available on the deluxe edition. The single became certified quadruple-platinum and sold over 4 million copies making it be one of the best selling US singles. The iTunes popularity bar showed that the other most popular songs from the album consisted of 'Fly', 'Moment for life', 'Your love' and 'Roman's revenge'.
  • First female solo artist to have seven singles simultaneously charting on the Billboard Hot 100

  • Moment 4 Life

    The fourth single 'Moment 4 Life' was released in December peaking at number 5 on the Hot Rap Songs.
  • Number 1: Pink Friday

    Pink Friday reached the number one spot on the Billboard 200 in its eleventh week on the chart.
  • Super Bass

    'Super Bass' was released where it charted within the top 10 in many countries including the UK, US, Australia and Canada, then being certified quadruple-platinum by the RIAA.
  • Till the World Ends

    Minaj and singer Kesha were featured on the remix of Spears' track "Till the World Ends," which charted at number 3 in the US in April 2011.
  • Opening act

    In June, Minaj was an opening act along with Jessie and the Toy Boys and Nervo on Britney Spears' Femme Fatale Tour.
  • Features with David Guetta

    Minaj featured on David Guetta's album for the singles 'Where Them Girls At' and 'Turn Me On'.
  • Rising Star Award

    Minaj won the Billboard Rising Star Award.
  • MDNA Album

    Madonna's album MDNA had Minaj feature on 'Give Me All Your Luvin' and 'I Don't Give A'. Along with Madonna and M.I.A they performed at the Super Bowl half time show.
  • Grammy Awards

    At the 54th Grammy Awards Minaj became the first solo female rapper to preform here as she debuted 'Roman Holiday'.
  • Right by My Side

    March saw 'Right by My Side' being the album's second single released peaking at 24 on the US Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs Chart.
  • Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded

    Minaj's next studio album Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded was released in April where it topped the Billboard 200 just how Pink Friday did. It also became one of the best-selling albums of that year. The most successful single from the album was 'Starships' which reached number 5 in the US as well as becoming one of the best selling singles of 2012.
  • Crazy Barbie

    Crazy Barbie was released which was mixed by DJ Smoke.
  • Pink Friday Tour

    The Pink Friday Tour was a worldwide tour beginning on May 16th.
  • Beez in the Trap

    'Beez in the Trap' released peaking at 24 on the US Billboard Rap Songs Chart.

    Minaj won Best Female Video and preformed 'Girl on Fire' with Alicia Keys.
  • The Boys

    'The Boys' was the first single from The Re-Up to be released in September following with the video in October.
  • Pink Friday: Reloaded Tour

    The second tour Pink Friday: Reloaded Tour begun in October.
  • TV Documentary

    E! aired a 3 piece documentary Nicki Minaj: My Truth in November.
  • 'Freedom'

    'Freedom' was the second single from The Re-Up to be released.

    Minaj was nominated for Best Hip-Hop, Best Female and Best Look but only won Best Hip-Hop.
  • Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded

    The release of an expanded version of Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded subtitled The Re-Up.
  • Achievment

    In April Minaj became the most-charted female rapper in the history of the Billboard Hot 100 with 44 appearances.
  • Billboard Music Awards

    Minaj had 7 nominations at the Billboard Music Awards
  • Re-release of Va Va Voom

  • BET Awards

    Minaj won Best Female Hip-Hop Artist at the BET Awards, this was the first time a female rapper had won it four times consecutively.