Tracking An Artist Through Their Career- Jessie J

  • Jessica Ellen Cornish Was Born

  • Attened The Britt School

  • Jessie Began recording her first album

  • Release of 'Do it like a Dude'

    In late 2010 Jessie J released her first single, "Do It Like a Dude" which was co-written with George Astasio, Tj Normandin, Jason Pebworth, Jon Shave, Kyle Abrahams and Peter Ighile. Originally, she wrote the song with Rihanna in mind because "Rude Boy" was released at the time, partly inspiring the song. She then sent the song to her label, Island Records, before sending it to Rihanna's management. Island insisted the song become Jessie J's first single.
  • Release of 'Price Tag'

    Her follow-up single "Price Tag" was released in late January 2011. This was written by Jessie J, Lukasz Gottwald, Claude Kelly, and Bobby Ray Simmons, Jr. and charted at number one in the top of the charts.
  • 'Big White Room' and 'Who You Are'

    She revealed that "Big White Room" would be on the album and was written from an experience she had when she was 11 years old, although she wrote the song at age 17, in hospital, where a ward mate, a little boy, died. Jessie J says the album's title track, "Who You Are", is one of her proudest creations, she said the song is a "positive role model for young people" and "I always say that I'm half-artist, half-therapist".
  • 'Price Tag' in America

    "Price Tag" was released in the United States on 1 February 2011 and peaked at 23 on the Billboard Hot 100.[29] "Price Tag" also charted at number-one in New Zealand and Ireland and is the most successful online video J has released.
  • Who You Are Album Released

    On 25 February 2011 her début album, Who You Are, was released.
  • Album Entering The Charts

    The album first entered the charts on 6 March 2011 where it charted on the UK Album Charts at number two. The album charted into the top ten in a number of countries and number 11 in the United States.
  • First American TV Appearance

    Her first American television appearance was as the musical guest on NBC's Saturday Night Live on 12 March 2011.
  • Making it in America & Katy Perry

    With the success of Who You Are in North America, Jessie was chosen to tour as the opening act for American pop artist Katy Perry's California Dreams Tour in 2011 but after she was unable to fully recover from her injuries during rehearsals she was forced to pull out under the doctor's orders. Jessie J served as the house artist at the 2011 MTV Video Music Awards, performing several of her original songs along with covers around commercial breaks.
  • The Youtube Sensation

    October 2011, the video has generated over 148 million views on Youtube and Vevo, making it the 22nd most viewed music video of all time.
  • Domino at Number One

    Jessie J re-released "Who You Are" on 9 November 2011, featuring the regular tracks plus "Domino" and two new songs. "Domino" became her first top 10 hit in the U.S., following the success of "Price Tag". The song also peaked at number 1 in January 2012 in the UK, before it was even officially released there.
  • Chart Success

    David Guetta and Jessie J released the sixth single, "LaserLight", from her début album on 4 May 2012. In the UK, the song débuted at number twenty-six on the UK Singles Chart on the chart issue dated 21 April 2012, selling 12,100 copies.The following week the song climbed twenty-one positions to number five with sales of 38,983 copies., making it her sixth top ten single from one album. She became the first UK female solo artist to achieve six top-ten singles from a single solo album.
  • The Voice

    Became a member of the judging pannel on BBC's the voice for two series mentoring contestents.
  • Representing the UK at The Olympics

    She performed "Price Tag", "Written in the Stars", "Dynamite", and "You Should Be Dancing" with Tinie Tempah and Taio Cruz, and "We Will Rock You" with Queen at the Closing Ceremony of the 2012 Olympic Games.
  • The Second Album Alive

    Jessie announced that her second studio album, Alive, would be released on 23 September into the UK and to the rest of the world a day later. The album was available that same day for pre order on her official website. It became Jessie's second album to reach the top 5 in the UK Albums Chart, peaking number 3.