The History of One Direction

  • One Direction is Formed on X factor

    One Direction is Formed on X factor
    5 British boys, Harry Styles, Niall Horan, Louis Tomlinson, Zayn Malik, and Liam Payne aged 16-18 all audition as solo artists but get grouped together by Simon Cowell to compete on the UK show
  • Leaving the Show

    Leaving the Show
    The 5 boys are eliminated from the show but plan to stick together.
  • First Single

    First Single
    One Direction released their first single, "What Makes You Beautiful". It peaked at Number 4 on the Billboard 100 Chart and won a BRIT award for Best Single
  • Up All Night

    Up All Night
    One Direction releases their debut album "Up All Night" after a successful first single. The album is led by a tour through the UK and Ireland, later adding Australia and North America
  • Take Me Home

    Take Me Home
    They release their second studio album, Take Me Home, featuring hits such as 'Live While Were Young", "Kiss You", and "Rock Me". This album won awards like Favorite Pop/Rock Album and Artist of the Year.
  • Madison Square Garden

    Madison Square Garden
    One Direction headlines Madison Square Garden in New York for the first time ever, selling it out almost immediately.
  • Movie Star Madness

    Movie Star Madness
    A documentary on the boy's rise to fame and their iconic stardom is released in theaters. The film includes live concerts and a lot of 'never seen' content and interviews as they travel the world.
  • 1D Day

    1D Day
    One Direction created an all-day live stream called "1D Day". The band got interviewed, played games, and performed live to celebrate the release of their newest album "Midnight Memories"
  • Midnight Memories

    Midnight Memories
    The third album, Midnight Memories is released featuring the hits of "Best Song Ever", "Story of My Life", and "You & I". The album also respectively won "Favorite Pop/Rock Album".
  • Four

    Their fourth studio album, Four, is released with the singles, "Night Changes", and "Steal My Girl". The singles from this album received platinum status and reached #1 in 67 countries
  • From Five to Four

    From Five to Four
    Zayn Malik leaves the band to focus on himself and his own music. He released his first single "PILLOWTALK" shortly after.
  • Made In The A.M.

    Made In The A.M.
    The boy band released their final studio album, Made in the A.M. It featured songs like "Drag Me Down", "History", and "Olivia". The record won "Best International Album".
  • Long Term Hiatus

    Long Term Hiatus
    In November, the boys announced they would be taking a break from the band. Their last performance was on X-Factor. Since then, they have not come back and have all recorded their own solo songs.