• 7.3 Major Life Event

    7.3 Major Life Event
    Fortunately, I have never experienced what Holmes and Rahe have listed as some of the most stressful life events (death of spouse, incarceration, etc.). However, I have experienced major personal injury to my back from a fall (53 points). I found a goodness of fit for this stressor through physical therapy and back strengthening exercises as a form of problem-focused coping. Unfortunately, there is no perfect cure for chronic pain, but this has been an effective way of managing the pain level.
  • 7.2 Transitions

    7.2 Transitions
    I believe a trigger for my transition between individuate-reflective and conjunctive faith was from going to college. Growing up, I went to a private school that was relatively secluded from people of diverse backgrounds and faith systems. My experience at Gallaudet, meeting many people of different backgrounds/beliefs, has shaped my current faith stage as it was an eye-opening experience to recognize my relatively sheltered past. I adapted in response to exposure to diverse perspectives.
  • 1.1 The Beginning

    1.1 The Beginning
    I believe that I became an adult after my first semester of college. Although I still have financial support from my family, I am in an entirely different city (in non-covid times) and it is relatively all up to me and the decisions I make on whether I succeed or fail. While I started college in August 2018, I believe this first semester was an adjustment period and my adult journey truly started after I successfully transitioned from high school to college.
  • 2.2 Genetic Limits

    2.2 Genetic Limits
    Without harming any animals, scientists can synthetically replicate the genetics of species with high Hayflick limits and remove any undesired traits. Consenting legal adults are eligible and their natural replicative senescence will increase. The same can also be done using synthetic horse traits to provide someone with increased endurance. Since this procedure will alter and enhance one’s typical genetics by introducing synthetic codes of other species, this procedure will only be needed once.
  • 4.3 Adult Attachment Style

    4.3 Adult Attachment Style
    My attachment style was in the middle between secure and preoccupied. I do notice myself wanting a relationship, but having some anxiety and self-doubt. I often feel it is hard to truly know another person’s perception of me and I am unsure if they feel the same way about me as I do about them, which fits the preoccupied/anxious attachment type. At the same time, however, I do not feel like I am in need of a relationship to be successful and happy, which fits the secure attachment style.
  • 6.4- Intimacy

    6.4- Intimacy
    During Nayeli's life history presentation, it was clear Herminia experienced Erikson's intimacy vs isolation stage. When she was 14, which is earlier than typical age of 19, she met and began to date the man that became her husband. They had a happy marriage until he passed at a relatively young age. She is single, yet is surrounded by the love of her family/friends. I am currently navigating this stage, after achieving a sense of identity, as I am hoping to enter a committed relationship.
  • 2.3 My current healthy lifestyle

    2.3 My current healthy lifestyle
    I go for walks and play Just Dance occasionally, but I would say that I have a pretty sedentary lifestyle. Also, although I eat relatively healthy, I am a vegetarian and often forget to get sufficient daily protein and iron. I frequently drink sweet coffee, which I am aware is not the healthiest option. I often notice myself having a habit of doing school or work and then before I know it, it is the evening and I have not had much physical activity, which is another area for improvement.
  • 7.1 Fowler

    7.1 Fowler
    Growing up, my family never practiced organized religion. My experience of synthetic-conventional faith was based on societal norms and laws rather than organized religion. I have been able to recognize the societal norms and rules I used to blindly follow and have moved into a stage between individuate-reflective and conjunctive faith. I am more autonomous in my faith while recognizing there are many aspects outside of my control. I am open as no faith system is inherently "right" or "wrong".
  • 6.1 My RIASEC Type

    6.1 My RIASEC Type
    My Holland Code was SEI (social, enterprising, investigative). The social type of vocational interest resonated with me. My passion of helping/enlightening others fits my career goal of becoming a mental health counselor. Although I like to be involved in creating change, I prefer acting being the scenes and would not describe myself as a domineering leader. I was surprised to see enterprising was my second listed vocational type and not investigative, as I prefer observing and solving problems.
  • 4.1 Young Adult Role Transition

    4.1 Young Adult Role Transition
    Although I am currently single, I hope to be in a serious relationship by the typical age for women, 27. Since I tend to avoid conflict, my partner and I will have to learn to effectively address conflicts in a healthy way as they arise. Not every couple is fit to share a living space; I hope to cohabitate with my partner before marriage to get a sense of living compatibility. My partner and I will probably both be working, so I hope to have egalitarian roles and share responsibilities evenly.
  • 2.1 Oxidative Damage

    2.1 Oxidative Damage
    There is a voluntary minimally-invasive procedure that aims to delay aging by repairing naturally-occurring free radicals from body metabolism, light exposure, x-rays, or air pollution through a filtered blood draw that only attracts free radicals. Then, all previously unpaired electrons that were filtered out of the body will be paired and filtered back in. For the best results, it is recommended to have this treatment every 10 years starting at age 30.
  • 6.3-Autonomous

    Towards the end of Lucy's presentation about her grandmother, Anna Ventrudo, she brought up examples fitting Loevinger's autonomous stage of ego development. Despite being a worrier throughout her life, she now spends less time worrying about the smaller things. She now recognizes there are more important aspects of life along with the complexities of life. Additionally, she indicated respect for the increasing autonomy of her children/grandchildren while enjoying the lessened responsibility.
  • 2.4 Potential consequences of my lifestyle

    2.4 Potential consequences of my lifestyle
    My current sedentary lifestyle is a risk factor for cardiovascular disease, cancer, Alzheimer’s disease, and diabetes, which means if I don’t change my behavior I have an increased chance of developing these diseases as I age. Additionally, I have a heightened risk of diabetes because of my family history. However, I do not smoke or binge drink, and also take vitamins to help ensure sufficient nutrients with my diet, which may help prevent me from developing these diseases as I age.
  • 4.2 Older Adult Role Transition

    4.2 Older Adult Role Transition
    My parents have made it clear they do not ever want to be in an assisted living facility. I will likely be the closest family member to care for my parents if they need assistance when they get older. I am close with my parents and would enjoy extra time with them; however, if I am working and they need additional support, I can imagine how that may put a strain on my career and other relationships. To successfully navigate this role, I will need to reprioritize and have good time management.
  • 3.2 Decision Making

    3.2 Decision Making
    This feels odd to say, but a decrease in making decisions with careful consideration and time around age 65 may positively impact my life. Although I always enjoy considering all the information at my disposal, I often take that to the extreme in daily tasks and can be incredibly indecisive. While I hope not to make any serious decisions on a whim without careful consideration of the potential consequences, this decline may help me to more quickly decide where to go to eat or what to buy.
  • 3.1 Visual Search

    3.1 Visual Search
    In my 70s, it is likely that I will have increased difficulty successfully locating a specific object in my environment quickly. Considering how I like to get things done quickly and efficiently, I can imagine how this decline in ability will be frustrating for me. Instrumental activities of daily living may take more time since I may struggle to find the tools in my garage or ingredients in my pantry that are necessary for the activity.
  • 6.2 Super's Stages

    6.2 Super's Stages
    If I became community health worker, which is shown to fit my SEI Holland Code, around 65-70 I will likely experience Super's proposed final stage of disengagement. I will begin to disengage from my typical work duties and plan for retirement. Financial factors will influence the timing of my retirement. I would also want to pursue volunteering as an alternative to full retirement. Volunteering would suit my social vocational type and help to navigate Erikson's generativity vs stagnation stage.
  • 8.1 The End

    8.1 The End
    On January 21, 2097, Taylor Paglieri, loving wife, mother, and sibling passed away at age 97. Taylor was born on November 7, 1999. In 2024, she obtained her M.S.W. and practiced as a mental health counselor for 46 years before retiring at the age of 70. On March 11, 2025, she married her loving partner, Quinn, and together they had two beautiful children, River and Skye. Taylor was passionate about helping others and was an avid dog/duck lover. She was known for her kind heart and loving spirit.