Philippine history collage

Filipino History Timeline

By xpo449
  • Mar 16, 1521

    Magellan Arrives

    Magellan Arrives
    Portuguese explorer Ferdinand Magellan, working for Spain, began exploration of the Philippines in hopes of expanding Spanish territory as well as Catholicism.
  • Apr 27, 1521

    Defense of Mactan

    Defense of Mactan
    Lapu-Lapu, datu of the island of Mactan, and his warriors successfully defeated Magellan and his forces, killing Magellan in the process.
  • Feb 2, 1543

    Philippines Officially Named

    Philippines Officially Named
    Spain claimed the islands as their territory and named them the Philippines after King Phillip II.
  • Period: Feb 2, 1543 to

    Spanish Colonization

    The era of Spanish rule over the Philippines
  • British Occupation

    British Occupation
    Manila fell under British rule during the Seven Years War.
  • Spanish Reoccupation

    Spanish Reoccupation
    The Treaty of Paris implictly returned Manila to Spanish rule.
  • La Liga Filipina Formed

    La Liga Filipina Formed
    Jose Rizal formed La Liga Filipina, a peaceful organization that sought reform and defense against violence and injustice.
  • The Katipunan Formed

    The Katipunan Formed
    After Jose Rizal was arrested and exiled to Dapitan, Andres Bonifacio formed the Katipunan, a secret society that sought to revolt against Spanish rule.
  • Revolution Declared

    Revolution Declared
    After being discovered by the Spanish government, the Katipunan declared revolution against Spain.
  • Independence Declared

    Independence Declared
    Emilio Aguinaldo declared Philippine Independence from Spain.
  • American Occupation

    American Occupation
    The 1898 Treaty of Paris ceded the Philippines to the United States by Spain.
  • Philippine-American War

    Philippine-American War
    Hostilities between Filipino and American forces broke out, shifting the Philippines' war against Spain to a war against the US without having any recognition of independence.
  • Insular government of the Philippines established

    Insular government of the Philippines established
    A civil administration established under the United Statues Bureau of Insular Affairs. Led by Governor-General William Howard Taft, this was one of the first steps the United States took towards giving Philippine independence.
  • Period: to

    Insular Government of the Philippines

  • Philippine-American War Ends

    The US declared the war against the Philippines to be over, even though some fighting still continued thereafter.
  • Jones Law

    Jones Law
    Jones Act Created the first fully elected Philippine legislature
  • Constitution of the Republic of the Philippines

    The 1935 Constitution of the Republic of the Philippines was approved by a convention with a vote of 177 to 1.
  • Manuel Quezon Elected President

    Manuel Quezon Elected President
    Manuel L Quezon was elected as president of the Commonwealth of the Philippines.
  • Commonwealth of the Philippines Established

    Commonwealth of the Philippines Established
    Commonwealth of the Philippines Under the newly established position of High Commissioner and the Tydings-McDuffie Act, Frank Murphy helped in the transition to independence in the establishment of the Commonwealth.
  • Period: to

    Commonwealth of the Philippines

  • Attack on Clark Air Base

    Japanese surprise attack on Clark Air Base in Pampanga, just ten hours after the attack on Pearl Harbor
  • Period: to

    Japanese Occupation of the Philippines

    Japanese Occupation of the Philippines During WWII, the Philippines were under Japanese occupation.
  • Bataan Death March

    Bataan Death March
    The forcible transfer of Filipino and American troops by the Japanese after the three month Battle of Bataan.
  • Japanese Surrender

    The formal surrender of the Japanese in WWII
  • Period: to

    Third Republic of the Philippines

    From obtaining Philippine independence after WWII to the establishment of Martial Law under President Marcos
  • Ferdinand Marcos Elected

    Ferdinand Marcos Elected
    Ferdinand Marcos elected as President of the Philippines, defeating Diosdado Macapagal.
  • Martial Law Established

    Under President Marcos, martial law was established under Proclamation No. 1081.
  • Period: to

    Martial Law and the Fourth Republic

    The era under martial law to the election of Corazon Aquino as President
  • Martial Law Lifted

  • Assassination of Benigno S. Aquino, Jr.

    Assassination of Benigno S. Aquino, Jr.
    Benigno S. "Ninoy" Aquino was assassinated at the Manila International Airport after returning from self-imposed exile.
  • Period: to

    Fifth Republic

  • Election of Corazon Aquino

    Election of Corazon Aquino
    Following the assassination of her husband and the People Power Revolution, Corazon Aquino was elected president after the snap elections of 1986.
  • Peace Agreement with MNLF

    Peace Agreement with MNLF
    *Date not found. But in Oct 1996 A peace agreement was signed under the term of President Fidel V. Ramos with the Moro National Liberation Front, an Islamic grouping fighting for a separate Muslim homeland in Mindanao.
  • President Estrada Removed from Office

    President Estrada Removed from Office
    President Joseph Estrada (term:1998-2001) was removed from office following accusations of accepting money from illegal gambling businesses.
  • Benigno Aquino III Elected

    Benigno Aquino III Elected
    Son of Benigno S. Aquino, Jr. and former Preseident Corazon Aquino, Benigno "Noynoy" Aquino III was elected President of the Philippines.