European Constitution of Australia

  • Captain James Cook

    Captain James Cook
    1770- Captian James Cook sailed around Australia
  • First Fleet

    First Fleet
    1787- British ships called the First Fleet left England with convicts to establish a prison colony
  • Prisoners settle in Australia

    Prisoners settle in Australia
    1788- British prisoners settle in Australia
  • Aborigine tribes

    Aborigine tribes
    1830- Remnants of the aborigine tribes in the settled areas were moved into reserves.
  • New South is Official

    New South is Official
    New South was official, a penal (prison) colony consisting mainly of convicts, marines, guards, and the marines' families.
  • Period: to

    British and Irish criminals

    From 1833-1850 it was the destination for the hardest of convicted British and Irish criminals (those who were secondary offenders having re-offended after they arrived in Australia
  • Boundaries created

    Boundaries created
    1861- Government officials created boundaries for the colonies that are still in place today.
  • British prisoners transported to Australia

    British prisoners transported to Australia
    1868- British transported prisoners to Australia until 1868
  • Commonwealth established

    Commonwealth established
    Jan 1, 1901- The commonwealth of Australia was established. It restricted migration to people primarily of European decent.
  • Federal Government passed legislation

    Federal Government passed legislation
    1967- The Federal government began to pass legislation to help the aborigines.
  • Australia Act

    Australia Act
    1986- All legal ties with the British Empire were served.