777px australian coat of arms

Federation time line by Trent Sheils

By Year 6
  • The Gold Rush

    The Gold Rush
    Violence occurs towards Chinese on the Goldfields.
  • Period: to

    Federation time line

  • Eureka Stockade

    Eureka Stockade
    The Eureka rebellion takes place.
  • voting in south Australia

    voting in south Australia
    Men in south Australia get the vote.
  • voting in Victoria

    voting in Victoria
    Men in Victoria get the vote.
  • New South Whales voting

    New South Whales voting
    Men in New South Whales get to vote.
  • British Colonies in Australia

    There were 6 British colonies in Australia. They could decide some things themselves, but the laws were made in Britain.
  • Queensland Voting

    Queensland Voting
    Men in Queensland get the vote.
  • The 1880's decade

    The 1880's decade
    This decade is a boom time in Australia
  • Colonies

    Each colony was now able to elect Thier own government, but still the big dicisions were made in Britain. People in the colonies were starting to talk about joining together to be one nation instead of six little colonies. Joining together like this is called federation.
  • Workers strike

    Workers strike
    Maritime Workers strike occurs.
  • A National Convention

    A National Convention to draft the Constitution is held.
  • Meeting about Federation

    A meeting was held to discuss federation. Each colony sent 7 people. They started to write a constitution which is a list of rules about how the nation's Parliament wil work.
  • Western Austraila Vote

    Western Austraila Vote
    Men in Western Australia get to vote.
  • Voting for Federation

    The Federation groups dicided that the people of Australia should vote to decide if federation take place.
  • Women vote

    Women in South Australia get to vote.
  • Discusing Federation

    Premiers' Confrences discus Federation.
  • Second Convention

    Second convention to draft the constitution takes place.
  • Federation P1

    Meetings descused the draft constitution and made changes and a new draft. Queensland was the only colony that did not send people to the meetings. Because some colonies were much smaller than others, it was decided to have parliament the way the United States did - the number of people from each state in the house of representatives depends on how many people live in the state, but each state has the same number of people in the Senate.People on all of the colonies exept Queensland and Western
  • Federation P2

    Western Australia voted on the constitution, but in New South Whales they did not agree to what was written and vote failed.
  • Referendum

    The first referendum for federation occurs.
  • The second referendum and women vote for WA

    The second referendum and women vote for WA
    The second referendum for federation occurs. Women in Western Australia get the vote.
  • Premier Meeting

    The Premiers met to descus the things that worried those three colonies, and changes were made to the constitution. One change is that there would be a new capital built between Sydney and Melbourne, because both thought they should be the capital city. People in all colonies exept Western Australia voted for the new constitution, and this time it was successful.
  • Tasmania vote

    Tasmania vote
    Men in Tasmania get to vote.
  • Persuading to Federate 2

    The Western Australians started to change their minds about Federation, and in August they voted to be part of it.
  • Persuading to Federate 1

    A committee took the constitution to London to persuade British Parliament to pass a law alowing five colonies to join together to become a nation. The law was passed in May and sighned by Queen Victoria in July saying that on 1st January 1901, New South Whales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia and Tasmania would become states in the commonwealth of Australia.Meanwhile, there was a gold rush in Western Australia and people from all over the country went there to look for gold.
  • Australia is a nation

    Australia becomes a nation. The Australian government takes control of all Australian colonial army and naval forces. Australia's population reaches 3 773 801, but Aboriginal peoples are not included in the census. The winning design for the Australian flag is announced.
  • First Prime Minister

    Edmund Barton Becomes Australia's first Prime minister.
  • Federation confirmed

    Federation confirmed
    On 1st January 1901 the first governor general, Lord Hopetoun, officially declared that there were now six statesforming the commenwealth Australia. The first parliament was opened in Melbourne on 9th May.
  • All women get to vote

    All women get to vote
    Women get the right to vote in Australian federal elections. Women in New South Whales get the vote in their state.
  • Women in TAS vote and new Prime Minister

    Women in TAS vote and new Prime Minister
    Women in Tasmania get the vote. The high court of Australia is formed. Alfred Deakin becomes the second Prime Minister of Australia.
  • Conciliationand and Arbitration

    The Conciliation and Arbitration court is formed.
  • QLD Women get to vote

    QLD Women get to vote
    Women in Queensland get the vote. Deakin became Prime Minister for the second time
  • New Guinea is Australia's

    Australia becomes responsible for British New Guinea.
  • VIC women vote and new Prime Minister

    Women in Victoria get the vote. The site of the national capital is chosen.Andrew Fisherbecomes Prime Minister.
  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank
    The Commonwealth bank is set up.
  • Royal Australian Navy

    The royal Australian Navy is formaly established.
  • Australia joins World War 1

    Prime Minister Fisher commits Australian forces to fighting in World War 1.