Chloe's Colonial History Timeline

By Room 17
  • The first fleet

    The First Fleet is the name given to the eleven ships that left Great Britain, bound for Australia, on 13 May 1787. The passengers consisted of: 10 civil officers, 212 Marines, including officers, an additional 28 wives and 17 children of the marines, 81 free people, 504 male convicts and 192 female convicts, coming to a total of 1044 persons. The Fleet was sent to New South Wales (as named by Captain Cook) in order to begin European colonisation in Australia.The ships arrived at Botany Bay betw
  • Period: to

    australia colonial history

  • Colonisation of South Australia

    On 28 December, 1836, Captain John Hindmarsh, arrived at Holdfast Bay, South Australia to start the Colony. We have a public holiday to celebrate this day and we call it Proclamation Day. On 31 December, 1836, the population was 546 people. Colonial Light chose the site of Adelaide on the plains under Mount Lofty, and close to the inlet of the sea that became Port Adelaide. Influenced by reports by earlier visitors, the South Australian Company settled on Kangaroo Island.
  • Gold Rush

    The Victorian gold rush was approximately between 1851 and the late 1860s in Victoria, Australia. For many years the gold output from Victoria was greater than in any other country in the world with the exception of California.
    Gold discoveries in Beechworth, Ballarat and Bendigo sparked gold rushes similar to the California Gold Rush. At its peak approximately two tons of gold per week flowed into the Treasury Building in Melbourne.
    £500,000 million worth of gold was exported to Britain in the
  • Ned Kelly

    Edward “Ned” Kelly was famous for being an Irish Australian bushranger. After he killed three policemen, he and his gang became outlaws. He is famous for the home-made plate metal armour and helmet he wore when he fought a battle with police at Glenrowan, Victoria on 28 June 1880. Ned was at Old Melbourne Gaol in November 1880.
  • Federation

    The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self-governing colonies of New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria and Western Australia formed one nation. They kept the systems of government that they had developed as separate colonies but also would have a federal government that was responsible for matters concerning the whole nation. When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became s