British Raj & Independence Day

By Yae
  • Indian Rebellion

    Indian Rebellion
    The Indian Rebellion of 1857 began as a mutiny of sepoys of the East India Company's army on 10 May 1857.
  • Bengali Revolt

    On May 10, 1857, the revolt started, when mainly Bengali Muslim troops marched to Delhi and pledged their support to the Mughal emperor.
  • British Raj

    British Raj
    The British Raj is the term often used for British rule in the Indian subcontinent, usually but not exclusively for the period between 1858 and 1947. The term can also refer to the period of dominion.
  • Division between Bengal and Hindu

    In 1905, the colonial government divided Bengal into Hindu and Muslim sections; this division was revoked after strong protests.
  • British encourages Muslim League

    Britain also encouraged the formation of the Muslim League of India in 1907.
  • 5k protestors gathered at Amritsar

    In April, 1919, more than 5,000 unarmed protestors gathered at Amritsar, in the Punjab. British troops fired on the crowd, killing an estimated 1,500 men, women and children. The official death toll was 379.
  • Government of India Act

    The earlier Government of India Act (1935) had provided for the establishment of provincial legislatures across the colony. The Act also created an umbrella federal government for the provinces and princely states, and granted the vote to about 10% of India's male population.
  • Britain sent Cripps

    In 1942, Britain sent the Cripps mission to offer future dominion status in return for help recruiting more soldiers. Cripps may have made a secret agreement with the Muslim League, allowing Muslims to opt out of a future Indian state.
  • Violence in India

    On August 17, 1946, violent fighting broke out between Hindus and Muslims in Calcutta. The trouble quickly spread across India.
  • Independence Day

    Independence Day
    A national holiday in India commemorating the nation's independence from British rule on 15 August 1947.