the european union

  • Treaty of Paris

    Treaty of Paris
    EU's creation process started with the Treaty of Paris, in 1951, which created the European Coal and Steel Community.
  • Treaty of Rome

    Treaty of Rome
    On March 1957, the Treaty of Rome created the European Economic Community and,in the same year, a link between EU's institutions and EU citizens was founded and called European Economic and Social Committee.
  • Britain

    Britain joined in the European Union in 1973.
  • Berlin Wall

    Berlin Wall
    It was the symbol of Europe's division until its fall in 1989.
  • European Union

    European Union
    In 1992, European Union and EU's law were definitely established.
  • Euro

    Coins and banknotes were launched on 1 January 2002, and in 12 EU countries the biggest cash changeover in history took place.
  • The Historic Enlargement

    The Historic Enlargement
    The historic enlargement was the one in 2004, when ten countries joined in the European Union: Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.
  • Treaty of Lisbon

    Treaty of Lisbon
    The Treaty of Lisbon gives the EU full legal personality. Therefore, the Union obtains the ability to sign international treaties in the areas of its attributed powers or to join an international organisation.
  • Nobel Peace Prize

    Nobel Peace Prize
    In 2012, European Union was recognised for its work in the ideals of unity, solidarity and harmony between EU citizens with the Nobel Peace Prize.
  • Brexit

    Brexit is an abbreviation of two English words: 'Britain' and 'exit' and refers to the withdrawal process of the United Kingdom (UK) from the European Union (EU).
  • Bregret

    Regret that follows voting for leaving the European Union in the 23 June 2016 referendum in the UK; a blend of the words ‘Britain’ or ‘Brexit’ and ‘regret’.
  • Ukraine and Russia

    Ukraine and Russia
    The two countries have been in a de facto state of war since 24 February 2022, although Russia has invaded the Crimea and Donbas regions of Ukraine in February 2014.