The European Union

Timeline created by Karla artola
In History
  • The aims

    The aims
    Were to consolidate peace, to avoid new conflicts in Europe, and to complete economically as a block with other world economies.
  • Robert Schuman

    Robert Schuman
    He was the French Mininster of Foreign Affairs, he presented those ideas
  • European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC)

    European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC)
    6 European contries (Belgium, France, Italy, West Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands) They decided to expand the project to include all aspects of their economies
  • Teatries of Rome

    Teatries of Rome
    This established the European Economic Community (EEC) and the European Atomic Energy Community (EAEC)
  • EEC

    The EEC was founded: The "inner six"
  • European union

    European union
    In this timeline I'm going to show you the evolution and the origin of the European Union
  • Maastrich Treaty

    Maastrich Treaty
    The Maastrich Treaty came into force. The EEC became the EU ( European Union)
  • European central bank

    European central bank
    The European central bank was founded
  • Treaty of Nice

    Treaty of Nice
    It was created the Treaty of Nice
  • Euro

    The euro came into the circulation.
  • The force

    The force
    The treaty of Nice came into force
  • Treaty of Lisbon

    Treaty of Lisbon
    Came into force to reform the institutions of the EU
  • 28 countries

    28 countries
    In2013 the last country was created, with a total of 28 countries.
  • European Union Today

    European Union Today
    Things have changed in this new European Union and I'll explain it to you
  • Period: to

    The origins

    After the Second World War, several European countries decided to creat an organisation to strengthen cooperation between the countries of Europe.
  • Period: to

    The countries growth

    The EU has grown from six member countries to twenty eight.
  • Period: to

    Six countries

    From 1958 to 1973, there were six European countries.
  • Period: to

    Nine countries

    From 1973 to 1981, there were 3 European countries more. In total there were 9
  • Period: to

    10 countries

    From 1981 to 1986, there was 1 country more.
  • Period: to

    Twelve countries

    From 1986 to 1995, there were twelve European countries. And Spain joined in 1986
  • Period: to

    15 countries

    From 1995 to 2004, 3 more Eurpoean countries were created
  • Period: to

    25 countries

    From 2004 to 2007, there were 10 countries more
  • Period: to

    27 countries

    Now there is one countrie more, that means that there are 27