FIFA World Cup

By dmj1331
  • Uruguay 1930

    Uruguay 1930
    The first soccer world cup was held in Uruguay, from July 13 to 30, 1930. The host country was champion after beating Argentina 4-2 in the final.
  • Italy 1934

    Italy 1934
    The second world cup took place in Italy, between May 27 and June 10, 1934. Italy defeated Czechoslovakia 2-1 to be crowned champion.
  • France 1938

    France 1938
    The third edition of the world cup was played in France, from June 4 to 19, 1938. For the first time, the Jules Rimet trophy did not stay in the host country, as Italy defeated Hungary 4-2 in the final, becoming two-time world champion.
  • Period: to

    WWI Cancelations

    The soccer World Cup was played every four years, however the war developments of the WWI did not allow the 1942 and 1945 tournaments to take place.
  • Brazil 1950

    Brazil 1950
    The first world cup, after WWI, was held in Brazil, from June 24 to July 16, 1950. The favorite team to win the trophy was the host, however the Uruguayan national team gave the surprise in the final after beat Brazil 2-1 at the Maracaná stadium. This event was named for posterity as the "Maracanazo".
  • Switzerland 1954

    Switzerland 1954
    The fifth world cup took place in Switzerland, from June 16 to July 4. West Germany won its first title by beating Hungary 3-2 in the final. The German team came back from a score of 0-2, in what was called "The Miracle of Bern".
  • Sweden 1958

    Sweden 1958
    The sixth world cup was played in Sweden, from June 8-29. Once again the host team reached the final, but this time it was defeated by the Brazilian national team by a 5-2 score. A 17-year-old Brazilian player amazed the world for the first time: Pelé.
  • Chile 1962

    Chile 1962
    The world cup was returning to South America, this time to Chile, from May 30 to June 17. Brazil, in the hands of Pele, won his second consecutive championship after beating Czechoslovakia 3-1.
  • England 1966

    England 1966
    Played in England between 11 and 30 July 1966, this world cup was the 8th tournament of its type. The host teame defeated West Germany 4-2 on extra time. Geoff Hurst, from England, scored the first hat-trick in a world cup final.
  • Mexico 1970

    Mexico 1970
    The 9th world cup was held in Mexico from 31 May to 21 June, 1970. It was the first world cup celebrated in North America, and the first held outside Europe and South America. Italy and Brazil, both two-time former champion, clashed in the final. Brazil won its 3rd world cup; Pelé his 2nd one.
  • West Germany 1974

    West Germany 1974
    The 10th world cup,was held in West Germany, between 13 June and 7 July, 1974. It was the first, and only, time that West and East Germany participated in the same tournament. Also, it was the first time that the current FIFA world cup trophy was disputed. The host national team won its second world cup after beating the Netherlands 2–1 in the final.
  • Argentina 1978

    Argentina 1978
    The world cup returned to South America after 12 years for its 11th edition. It was held in Argentina, between 1 and 25 June 1978. he Cup was won by the hosts, who defeated the Netherlands 3–1 in the final. Argentina bacame the 5th nationalteam to be both hosts and world champions.
  • Spain 1982

    Spain 1982
    The 12th FIFA World Cup, was played in Spain between 13 June and 11 July 1982. It was the first tournament that featured penalty shoot-out in World Cup competition. After defeating West Germany 3-1, Italy earned its 3rd world tittle, first since 1938.
  • Mexico 1986

    Mexico 1986
    For the 13th world cup, Mexico became the first country to host the world cup twice. The tournament took place from 31 May to 29 June, 1986. Diego Armando Maradona and Argentina won the trophy after defeating West Germany 3-2. Maradona scored the "Hand of God" goal, as well as another voted "Goal of the Century", in the same quarter-final match against England.
  • Italy 1990

    Italy 1990
    The 14th FIFA world cup was held from 8 June to 8 July, 1990 in Italy, the second country to host the event twice. West Germany took revenge from the last world cup final, beating the reigning champion Argentina 1-0. This was the last participation of West Germany, due to the reunification on October 3rd 1990.
  • USA 1994

    USA 1994
    The 15th world cup was played in the United States, from 17 June to 17 July, 1994. It set the World Cup average attendance record with more than 69,000 spectators per game, a mark that still stands. Brazil won its 4th world title by defeating Italy on penalties. It was the first World Cup final to be decided on penalties.
  • France 1998

    France 1998
    60 years later, the world cup competition returned to France, for the 16th edition. It was held from 10 June to 12 July, 1998. For the first time 32 national teams, divided into eight groups of four, participated on the group stage. This is the current format of the tournament. The host team won its first title after beating Brazil in the final 3-0.
  • Korea-Japan 2002

    Korea-Japan 2002
    The 17th FIFA world cup took place in Korea and Japan, from 31 May to 30 June, 2002. It was the first to be held in Asia, the first to be held outside of the Americas or Europe, as well as the first to be jointly-hosted by more than one nation. Brazil defeated Germany 2-0, becoming the only team to win five world cups.
  • Germany 2006

    Germany 2006
    The 18th world cup was held in Germany, from 9 June to 9 July, 2006. It was the second time that this country hosted the world cup, bearing in mind the 1974 world cup in West Germany.
    Italy won its 4th world cup after beating France in penalties. In trhat final, Zinedine Zidane gave Marco Materazzi a header in the chest, earning a red card in his last game as a professional player.
  • South Africa 2010

    South Africa 2010
    For the first time the FIFA world cup was played in Africa. The 19th edition of this event was held in in South Africa, from 11 June to 11 July 2010. Spain defeated the Netherlands 1-0 to win its firs world cup. The Netherlands became the first nation to lose three world cup finals. Spain was the first European team to win the competition outside its continent.
  • Brasil 2014

    Brasil 2014
    Once again, the world cup tournament returned to a former host. This time, the 20th edition was held in Brazil, from 12 June to 13 July 2014. As in the 1950 edition, the "scratch do ouro" could not win the world cup in its home country, after being defeated by Germany with a tremendous 7-1 in the semifinals. The champions were the Germans, beating Lionel Messi´s Argentina 1-0 in the final match.
  • Russia 2018

    Russia 2018
    The 21st FIFA world cup was the first World Cup to be held in Eastern Europe. Played in Russia, from 14 June to 15 July 2018, this tournament was also te first one to use the video assistant referee (VAR) system. France defeated Croatia 4–2 to claim their second World Cup title, marking the fourth consecutive title won by a European team.