Shinee images 16901

SHINee World

  • Taemin

    Real name: Lee Taemin
    auditioned at "2005 S.M. Open Weekend Audition Casting"
  • Key

    Real name: Kim Kibum
    Auditioned at 2005 S.M. National Tour Audition Casting
  • Jongyhyun

    Real name: Kim Jonghyun
    Was discovered at 2005 S.M. Casting System
  • Period: to


    This is a Brief history of The KPOP Boy Band Group of Shinee from their estimated year of audition to the recently released music videos and albums. (Note that the auditions all start at the first day of the year since its not clear at which date they really auditioned)
  • Onew

    Real name: Lee Jinki
    Auditioned at 2006 S.M. Academy Casting
  • Minho

    Real name: Choi Minho
    Auditioned at the 2006 S.M. Academy Casting
  • Shinee formed

    Shinee formed
  • SHINee's Debut

    SHINee's Debut
    On May 25, 2008, the group's first mini-album, "Replay" was released from Label company, SM Entertainment. The mini-album debuted at #10 on the Korean music charts and peaked at #8, selling 17,957 copies in the first half of 2008.
  • The SHINee World

    The SHINee World
    Shinee released their first full-length album, "The SHINee World". The album debuted on the charts at #3, selling 30,000 copies. The First single released from the album was "Sanso Gateun Neo (Love Like Oxygen)".
  • A.M.I.G.O

    a repackage album of The Shinee World titled Amigo was released. The re-packaged album contained three new songs: "Forever or Never", a remix of "Sa. Gye. Han (Love Should Go On)" (사.계.한) and the promotional single "Amigo" (아.미.고). "Amigo" is a shortened version of the Korean phrase "Areumdaun Minyeorueljoahamyeon Gosaenghanda" (아름다운 미녀를 좋아하면 고생한다 lit. Heart Aches When You Fall In Love With a Beauty).
  • Juliette

    It was the first single released from the album "Romeo"
  • Romeo

    On February of 2009, SM Entertainment announced that Shinee would make their comeback with their second mini-album, Romeo, on May 21, 2009. It was delayed until May 25th due to Onew damaging his teeth. "Juliette" was the first single to be released from the album.
  • Ring Ding Dong

    Ring Ding Dong
    The lead single from the Shinee's third mini-album.
  • 2009, Year of Us

    2009, Year of Us
    Five months after the release of "Romeo", Shinee released their third mini-album. SM Entertainment stated that this EP would showcase the group's vocal talents and demonstrate their unique qualities. The lead single "Ring Ding Dong" was released 5 days earlier.
  • Lucifer (song)

    Lucifer (song)
    The lead single of Shinee's album which is also titled "Lucifer".
  • Lucifer (Album)

    Lucifer (Album)
    The second full-length album of Shinee was released. The songs on the album "were more carefully selected than ever", and the album is said to "[give] listeners a great chance to experience the diverse musical characters and more mature vocal skills of the members."
  • Hello (Album)

    Hello (Album)
    The studio album re-released a repackaged version entitled, "Hello".
  • Hello (Song)

    Hello (Song)
    Four days after the album was released, the video for the Promotional video also titled "Hello" was released.
  • Japan Debut

    Shinee had their Japan Debut Premium Reception in London at the Abbey Road Studios.
  • Replay (Japanese version)

    The single was released in Japan on June 22, 2011 and sold more than 91,000 copies in the first week. It was certified 'Gold' by RIAJ for selling over 100,000 copies in June 2011.
  • Japan Debut Premium Reception Tour

    Shinee started their Japan Debut Premium Reception Tour. They performed at a number of concerts while touring various cities across Japan including Fukuoka on July 22, Kobe on July 23, Tokyo on July 27 and 28, Sapporo on August 8 and Nagoya on August 11, 2011
  • Juliette (Japanese version

    EMI Music Japan revealed the music video for the Japanese version of "Juliette" through their official YouTube channel. The single was released on August 28, 2011
  • Lucifer (Japanese version)

    The group again released their third Japanese single "Lucifer" after the official music video for the single was released on EMI Music Japan's official YouTube channel on September 15, 2011.
  • Sherlock (Album)

    Sherlock (Album)
    A Digital Version of Shinee's fourth mini-album was released online through Itunes and other online music resources. It was not until 2 days after that physical copies of the album were released. Its lead single, also titled "Sherlock", achieved a real-time all-kill and maintained the #1 spot on various music charts. Shinee also gained a lot of attention in global music charts, such as in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom and France, and achieved 8th place on the iTunes Top Albums chart.
  • Sherlock (Song)

    Sherlock (Song)
    SM Entertainment released the music video of the lead single of their fourth mini-album also called "Sherlock". Hours later they made their comeback at Mnet's M! Countdown.