Music History Camden Wing

  • Period: 500 to 1450

    Medieval Period

  • 1030

    Guido de Arezzo writes Micrologus

    Guido's book Micrologus introduced the hexacord system, a 4 line staff, and solfege indicated by the guidonian hand.
  • 1098

    Hildegard von Bingen born

  • 1179

    Hildegard von Bingen death

  • 1323

    Ars Nova Treatise

    The Ars Nova Treatise standardized rhythm notation, both by labeling duration of notes using breve, semi breve, and minim, and by notating time signature for both triple and duple meters.
  • Period: 1450 to

    The Renaissance

  • 1485

    Josquin writes the motet "Ave Maria ... virgo serena"

  • 1529

    Martin Luther writes the chorale "Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott"

    Translation: A mighty Fortress is Our God
  • 1538

    Arcadelt writes the madrigal "Il bianco e dolce cigno"

  • 1567

    Palestrina publishes the Pope Marcellus Mass

    Allegedly, Palestrina wrote this piece to prove to that sacred texts could be understood in polyphonic music. This piece became/ still is the model for composing counterpoint.
  • 1572

    Victoria composes the motet "Missa O magnum mysterium"

  • Gabrieli composes "Sonata pian' e forte"

    This piece is tone of the first known pieces to notate dynamic markings. Sonata in this piece refers to the fact it is for instruments, not to be sung. It also uses antiphonal composition techniques that sounded particularly good in St. Mark's Basilica, where Gabrieli worked.