Wallpaper corporativo 002 eng.v1414526240

History Barcelona FC

  • Foundation

    Fútbol Club Barcelona was form the 29th of November of 1899 by a group of 12 friends. The original name of the club was "Foot-ball Club Barcelona" and Walter Wild became the first president in the history of the club.
  • Period: to

    First years

  • First titles

    First titles
    At the end of his first decade they started wining their first tittles: one Copa del Rey and one Pyrenees Cup. In the next years, they won two Copa del Rey and three Pyrenees Cups.
  • Four Copa del Rey

    Four Copa del Rey
    On the next years, Barcelona won four Copa del Rey (1919-1920, 1921-1922, 1924-1925, 1925-1926)
  • Period: to

    First Golden era

    In 1920, started the first golden era of the Club. They went from 3000 to 12000 members, and in 1922, the first major stage of the club, el Camp de Les Corts, was opened. The dictator Primo de Rivera shut down their stadium for six months and forced Hans Gamper to step down from being the president due to the whistles of the fans with the interpretation of the Royal March.
  • First Spanish League

    First Spanish League
    The league was formed by 10 teams. Real Madrid were second and Athletic Club third.
  • Big crisis

    Big crisis
    The decade of the 30's was a big crisis for the club. In the 1933/34 season they ended up second-to-last in the relegation zone. However, they didn't get relegated due to the league expansion to 12 teams.
  • Period: to

    The 40s

    In 1940, the club started getting over the social and politics crisis. In 1940 the club was renamed "Club de Fútbol Barcelona" instead of "Football Club Barcelona" and the shield was modified: the four stripes of the Catalan flag were removed to put in place the Spanish flag, but in 1949, because of the golden jubilee of the club, the government authorized the reinstatement of the Catalan flag.
  • Copa del Rey

    Copa del Rey
    The team was recomposed and the end up winning one Copa del Rey.
  • Eva Duarte Cup

    Eva Duarte Cup
    What we actually called the cup-winners' cup
  • Period: to

    The 50s

    The social mass of the team grew so they had to build a new stadium, the Camp Nou, inaugurated in September 1957.
  • Three Spanish Leagues

    Three Spanish Leagues
    1951-1952, 1952-1953, 1958-1959
  • Two Eva Duarte Cups

    Two Eva Duarte Cups
    In the 1951/52 season and the 1952/53
  • Pequeña Copa del Mundo and Copa Latina

    Pequeña Copa del Mundo and Copa Latina
  • Five Copas del Rey

    Five Copas del Rey
    1950-1951, 1951-1952, 1952-1953, 1956-1957, 1958-1959
  • Two Copa del Rey

    Two Copa del Rey
    1962-1963, 1967-1968
  • Period: to

    The Dream Team

    During the 1970s they continued the unstoppable rise of club members. These were the years in which Spanish football opened the doors to foreign players and the club signed international players like Johan Cruyff. After a serious sport and social crisis, in 1988 the club hired coach Johan Cruyff. The decade of the 1990s was the second best decade in the history of FC Barcelona. They were ten years of success for the club. During these years, the team played a great game and was popularly known
  • Two Copas del Rey

    Two Copas del Rey
    1970-1971, 1977-1978
  • UEFA Cup Winners' Cup

    UEFA Cup Winners' Cup
    Barcelona 4–3 Fortuna Düsseldorf. Barcelona, the tournaments' most successful team, won the first of their four titles
  • Champions League

    Champions League
    The tournament was won for the first time by Barcelona after extra time in the final against Sampdoria, the first victory in the tournament by a team from Spain since 1966.
  • Four consecutive leagues

    Four consecutive leagues
    Trained by Cruyff, the team won four consecutive leagues: 1990-1991, 1991-1992, 1992-1993, 1993-1994
  • League Title

    League Title
    After the resignation of Núñez in May 2000, Joan Gaspart was elected aspresident. His three years as president were settled without football titles. After the resignation of Joan Gaspart, Laporta became president. He signed players like Ronaldinho or Eto'o, and the new coach, Frank Rijkaard.
    They won the league in the 2004-2005 season, Real Madrid were second and Villareal CF third.
  • Champions and League title

    Champions and League title
    The Champions league ended with a final between Arsenal and Barcelona at Stade de France, Paris, on 17 May 2006. Barcelona won 2–1 with Juliano Belletti scoring a late winner. In the Spanish League, Barcelona ended up first with 82 points, followed by Real Madrid and Valencia CF
  • Period: to

    Pep Guardiola Era

    With the arrival of Pep Guardiola a new era started for the Catalonian club. On February 5, 2011 the team achieved a new record to be able to get their sixteenth consecutive win in the league, against Atletico Madrid. In the 2011-12 season, Guardiola abandoned the team with 14 of 18 possible titles won.
  • Triplete

    Barcelona made history in 2008/09 after winning the triple (League, Copa del Rey and Champions League).
  • Spanish Super Cup

    Spanish Super Cup
    At the start of the 2009-10 season, the team won the Spanish Super Cup by beating Athletic Club in both matches.
  • UEFA Super Cup

    UEFA Super Cup
    The also won the UEFA Super Cup by beating Shakhtar Donetsk
  • FIFA World Cup

    FIFA World Cup
    After winning the FIFA World Cup in 2009 they became the first team in history to get the 6 official titles in one season.
  • League title

    League title
    Followed by Real Madrid and Valencia CF, Barcelona became champions with 96 points of the Spanish League for the third year (21st title for the club)
  • Champions League

    Champions League
    The final was held at Wembley Stadium in London where Barcelona defeated Manchester United 3–1.
  • League title

    League title
    They won the title with 100 points and Real Madrid and Atlético de Madrid second and third
  • Spanish Super Cup

    Spanish Super Cup
    They played against Atlético the Madrid and Barcelona won on away goals as the result was 1-1.
  • Second triplete

    Second triplete
    They won League, Copa del Rey and Champions under the coaching of Luis Enrique. They won the Champions League for the fifth time in its history and became the only team that wins two triple.
  • UEFA Super Cup

    UEFA Super Cup
    The 2015-16 season began with the conquest of the fourth title of the year, the UEFA Super Cup. Instead, the Spanish Super Cup ran away after falling 5-1 against Athletic Club.