Pierre henri révoil   rené d'anjou at palamède de forbin   wga19322

Coleman Hand - Music History Timeline

  • Period: 476 to 1400

    Medieval Period

    The Medieval Period, also commonly known as the Middle Ages, is the period in Europe following the fall of Western Rome and preceding the Renaissance. It is during this time that the sacred plainchant used in the Church evolved into Gregorian chant, and eventually into organum and motets. In the secular world, troubadours/trouvères and jongleurs were popular. The latter Medieval period saw the development of the French ars nova, the music of the Italian trecento, and English polyphony.
  • 1026

    Guido d'Arezzo, "Micrologus"

    Guido d'Arezzo, "Micrologus"
    Guido's works served to codify the principles of Gregorian chant. He is also credited with inventing solfège.
  • Period: 1098 to 1179

    Hildegard of Bingen

    Hildegard is noted for being the most prolific medieval European composer. She was known for her prophecies regarding important royal and religious figures. She set her poetry to original plainchant compositions.
  • 1320

    Philippe de Vitry, "Ars Nova Treatise"

    Philippe de Vitry, "Ars Nova Treatise"
    This is known as the defining work of the French ars nova style, a period of development and innovation, as well as the introduction of isorhythm.
  • Period: 1400 to

    Renaissance Period

    The Renaissance was a period of renewed cultural, philosophical, and academic development following the socioeconomic turbulence of the late Middle Ages. This period saw further developments in polyphony, the growing prominence of instrumental music, the development of national and vernacular styles, and a bifurcation in sacred music practice corresponding with the Reformation and Counter-reformation.
  • 1529

    Martin Luther, "Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott"

    Martin Luther, "Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott"
    Martin Luther, founder of Lutheranism and central figure of the Protestant Reformation, was also a composer. "Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott," a monophonic chorale typical of the Lutheran tradition, was the most famous of his works.
  • 1538

    Jacob Arcadelt, "Il Bianco e dolce cigno"

    Jacob Arcadelt, "Il Bianco e dolce cigno"
    This is a madrigal by Franco-Flemish composer Jacob Arcadelt. The text, carefully colored and accentuated by the music, explores death as a metaphor for sensual euphoria. Madrigals of this time were settings of high poetry that were easily sightread and written for the purposes of amateur performance.
  • 1567

    Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina, "Pope Marcellus Mass"

    Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina, "Pope Marcellus Mass"
    This mass is credited with convincing the Council of Trent that polyphony and counterpoint were not necessarily at odds with the intelligibility of text in sacred works. The Pope Marcellus Mass exemplifies Palestrina's style of dissonance and resolution, as well as melodic conventions like the "Palestrina arch." Palestrina's works would lay the foundation for the whole future of Western music theory.
  • Tomás Luis de Victoria, "Missa 'O Magnum Mysterium'"

    Tomás Luis de Victoria, "Missa 'O Magnum Mysterium'"
    This imitative mass, or parody mass, was based on one of Victoria's previous motets. It artfully executes Palestrina-style counterpoint, while being more daring with chromaticism.