• Robert Hawke is elected

    Labour under prime minister Bob Hawke retained government
  • Paul Keating is elected

    In an exchange labour Party leadership,Paul keating became prime minster,succeeding Bob Hawke,wholeftparliament on the 20 february 1992 after 12 years representing the seat of wills
  • John Howard elected

    The first coalition government for 13 years was sworn in,with john howard as prime minister
  • Kevin Rudd

    Minister of the new labour government led by kevin rudd,with julia gillard as Astralias first female deputy prime minister,sworn in by the governor-general
  • Julia Gillard elected

    pm webAfter the closest election result since 1961 produces ahung pariament,intense negotiations enable labour to forma minority government with the support of four cross-bench members.