3267f289 8ab5 4e4a b8a7 d3b5495c752b

European Union

  • End of ww2

    End of ww2
    World War II or the Second World War, often abbreviated as WWII or WW2, was a global war that lasted from 1939 to 1945. It involved the vast majority of the world's countries—including all of the great powers—forming two opposing military alliances: the Allies and the Axis powers.
  • Cold War

    Cold War
    Cold War, the open yet restricted rivalry that developed after World War II between the United States and the Soviet Union and their respective allies. The Cold War was waged on political, economic, and propaganda fronts and had only limited recourse to weapons.
  • EEC

    The European Economic Community (EEC) was a regional organization that aimed to bring about economic integration among its member states. It was created by the Treaty of Rome of 1957.[note 1] Upon the formation of the European Union in 1993, the EEC was incorporated into the EU and renamed the European Community (EC).
  • Treaties of Rome

    Treaties of Rome
    Building on the success of the coal and steel treaty, Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands expand cooperation to other economic sectors. They sign the Treaties of Rome, creating the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom), and the European Economic Community or ‘common market’, allowing people, goods and services to move freely across borders.
  • Schengen Agreement

    Schengen Agreement
    A small village in Luxembourg gives its name to the Schengen Agreement that gradually allows people to travel without having their passports checked at the borders. It is signed on 14 June 1985 by Belgium, Germany, France, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. 26 countries currently make up the Schengen area.
  • Spain joins EU

    Spain joins EU
    And Portugal
  • EU Ecolabel

    EU Ecolabel
    The EU Ecolabel is created to promote consumer products that are kind to the environment.
  • Maastricht Treaty

    Maastricht Treaty
    The Maastricht Treaty, named after the Dutch city in which it was signed, comes into force. It is a major milestone of the European integration. It formally creates the European Union and paves the way for the creation of the single European currency: the euro. It also gives the European Parliament a bigger role in decision-making and the power to approve the Commission as a whole.
  • Single market

    Single market
    Single market rules require the free movement from one EU member country to another of goods, people, services and capital (the so-called 'four freedoms'). Those rules take two forms. First, they remove barriers to trade. Second, they harmonise, or unify, national rules at EU level
  • Austria, Finland and Sweden join the EU

    Austria, Finland and Sweden join the EU, increasing its membership to 15.
  • Treaty of Nice

    Treaty of Nice
    The Treaty of Nice is signed by the heads of the EU’s 15 Member States at a meeting in this French city. It changes the EU’s decision-making process so that the European Union will be ready for countries from Eastern Europe to join when ready. The European Parliament’s legislative and supervisory powers are increased. The treaty comes into force on 1 February 2003.
  • The euro

    The euro
    Euro notes and coins become the legal currency in 12 EU countries. Printing, minting and distributing them is a major logistical operation. More than 80 billion coins are involved. While euro coins have a common side giving the value, each country has its own design on the other side. Using a Finnish (or any other) euro coin to buy a Madrid metro ticket is something we soon take for granted. 19 countries currently use the euro.
  • Constitutional treaty

    Constitutional treaty
    It was later ratified by 18 member states, which included referendums endorsing it in Spain and Luxembourg. However, the rejection of the document by French and Dutch voters in May and June 2005 brought the ratification process to an end.
  • 10 new countries join EU

    Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia, and Slovenia
  • Bulgaria and Romania join the EU

    Bulgaria and Romania join the EU
    Bulgaria and Romania join the European Union, bringing its membership to 27. Irish becomes the 21st official language and Bulgarian and Romanian bring the number to 23.
  • Parlamentarium in Brussels

    Parlamentarium in Brussels
    The European Parliament in Brussels opens its new visitor centre — the Parlamentarium — which rapidly becomes a popular tourist attraction.
  • Brexit

    ‘Brexit’ is the name given to the United Kingdom’s departure from the European Union. It is a combination of ‘Britain’ and ‘exit’.