Erikson timeline

Timeline created by CheyenneRussell
  • Trust vs.Mmistrust

    Trust vs.Mmistrust
    Jane was born into a loving family that wanted a third child. Janes' parents had a consistent routine that included lots of snuggles. In Eriksons' 1st stage, trust vs. mistrust, the crisis is between the infant and whoever cares for them. If the infants' needs are met, he/she will not be afraid of everything they face. on the other hand, if the infants' needs are not met during this stage, they will fear the world they live in and assume the worst in life.
  • Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt

    Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt
    During Janes toddlerhood, her parents brought her to a park often where she would be able to run around and chose to play on the slide instead of the swing. In Eriksons' 2nd stage, autonomy versus shame and doubt, if a toddler is allowed to explore and make decisions, a sense of autonomy develops. On the other hand, if that toddler is restricted or punished, the child will develop doubt and shame.
  • Initiative vs. Guilt

    Initiative vs. Guilt
    When Jane was 4 years old her mother asked her what she wanted to do for her birthday. She responded, " I want to have ice cream for breakfast, see a movie, then go to the trampoline park with my friends."
    During Eriksons third stage, initiative versus guilt, a child will learn to start planning events with a purpose. If that child is encouraged, a sense of initiative will develop. However, if that child is discouraged, they will develop a sense of guilt.
  • Industry vs. Inferiority

    Industry vs. Inferiority
    When Jane started the 5th grade, she developed a routine which included; going to school, walking home, and doing her homework before dinner.

    During Eriksons' fourth stage, Industry versus inferiority, children develop the skills and knowledge required to fit their culture. If the child is taught with encouragement, the child will develop a sense of industry and has the confidence and desire to learn. If the child struggles to learn what is required, they will develop a sense of inferiority.
  • Identity vs. Identity Confusion

    Identity vs. Identity Confusion
    When Jane was 16 years old, she got her first job in an art studio. this was the perfect job for her because she loved to draw.
    During Eriksons' fifth stage, identity versus identity confusion, a teenager must learn who they are as a person, and how they fit into society. The adolescents who achieve this develop a sense of identity, but those who do not, develop identity confusion.
  • Intimacy versus Isolation

    Intimacy versus Isolation
    On the day of Janes wedding, she vowed to stay vulnerable and love her husband until the day she died. During Eriksons' sixth stage, intimacy versus isolation takes place in early adulthood. A person either accepts vulnerability and has an intimate relationship, or they chose not to do so and end up alone.
  • Generativity vs. Stagnation

    Generativity vs. Stagnation
    Jane chose to go to nursing school because she wanted to help people and make the world a safer place. Her selfless choice in career brought her a sense of joy.
    during Eriksons' sixth stage, generativity versus stagnation, an adult either focuses on making the world a better place and caring for others, in turn developing a sense of generativity. Or the person focuses on their own selfish needs and develops stagnation.
  • Ego Integrity vs. Despair

    Ego Integrity vs. Despair
    On the day of Janes retirement, her coworkers made a slide show with all of her life accomplishments. Jane cried as she filled a sense of joy and fulfillment for what she accomplished.
    During Eriksons' eighth-stage, ego integrity versus despair, a late adult looks back on their life and their accomplished. The people who look back on life and see the positive experience of ego integrity. But, the people who look back and focus on the negative, experience despair.