Constitutional Timeline

Timeline created by Berenice Dominguez
  • Declaration of Rights and Grievances is signed

    Declaration of Rights and Grievances is signed
    Declaration of Rights and Grievances is a document created by the Stamp Act Congress declaring that taxes imposed on British colonists without their formal consent were unconstitutional. This document was based off of The Stamp Act that required any documents or newspapers to be printed on special taxed paper.
  • Boston Tea Party

    Boston Tea Party
    A boycott made by the colonist in Boston on Dec. 16 , 1773 against the British Government. Occured when the colonist were being taxed without representation and consisted of a group of colonists that boarded onto the british ships and destroyed the tea by throwing it into the Boston Harbor. This event was a huge growth towards The American Revolution.
  • First Continential Congress meets

    First Continential Congress meets
    The First Continential Congress was a convention of delegates from twelve British North American colonies that met on September 5, 1774, at Carpenters' Hall in Philadelphia. The congress consisted of 56 members appointed by 12 of the 13 colonies except for Georgia which was considered a convict state and was not taken into consideration.
  • Revolutionary War Begins

    Revolutionary War Begins
    The Revolutionary War began on April 19, 1775. A war between Great Britain and The 13 Colonies. Colonists argued that the Stamp Act of 1765, imposed by Parliament of Great Britain, was unconstitutional but the British Parliament insisted that they had the right to tax colonists. The colonists claimed that taxation without representation was illegal so a war between the two began.
  • 2nd Continential Congress meets

    2nd Continential Congress meets
    When the 2nd continential congress meets the delegates of the 13 colonies gathered in Philadelphia to discuss their next steps. They began to meet on May 10, 1775 right after warfare in the United States had started. The same 56 delegates that participated in the first meet participated in the second one as well. All the delegates chose the same president which was Peyton Randolph and the same secretary
    Charles Thomson.
  • Declaration of Independence is signed

    Declaration of Independence is signed
    Declaration of Independence is a document adopted by the continential congress on July 4, 1776 that stated The United States of America gaining it's independence from Great Britain and were no longer part of the British Empire. All 56 delegates signatures are in this document.
  • Articles of Confederation is signed

    Articles of Confederation is signed
    The articles of confederation was an agreement between the 13 states that established the United States of America as a confederation of sovereign states and served as its first constitution. Although the Articles of Confederation was not signed until March of 1781 it was created on November 15 of 1777. It's purpose was a constitution for the United States to be replaced by a states constitution.
  • Revolutionary War Ends

    Revolutionary War Ends
    As a result of The Revolutionary War, The United States gains its Independence from Britain. Great Britain loses it's area east of Mississippi River and south of Great Lakes. As Spain gains East Florida, West Florida and Minorca.
  • Constitutional Congress opens

    Constitutional Congress opens
    Was created to fix the problems the government was having and was being organized at the same time as the Articles of Confederation after getting Independence from Great Britain. James Madison and Alexander Hamilton chose George Washington to preside over the convention and decided to create a new government instead of trying to fix it.
  • Final Draft of The Constitution is signed

    Final Draft of The Constitution is signed
    On September 17, 1787, the Constitution was completed, and a speech was also given by Benjamin Franklin, who urged unanimity and although the Convention decided that only nine states were needed to ratify The Convention submitted the Constitution to the Congress of the Confederation, where it received approval according to Article 13 of the Articles of Confederation.