Apartheid Timeline

  • Founding of the ANC

    African National Conference (ANC) was renamed in 1923. Founded by John Dube, Pixley ka Isaka Seme, and Sol Plaatje. Originally named South African Native National Congress (SANNC) it was founded in 1912.
  • Congress Youth League

    Founded by Nick Gombart, Ashley Peter Mda, Nelson Mandela, Walter Sisulu, and Oliver Tambo.
  • Defiance Campaign

    Largest scale of non-violent resistance ever seen in South Africa and first campaign pesued by all racial groups.
  • Sharpville Massacre

    169 killed, 180 injured when police opened fire on aproximately 300 people who were protesting passed laws.
  • Albert Luthuli The Nobel Peace Prize

    awarded the peace prize in anti-apartheid struggle and was the president of the ANC
  • Spear of Nation Formed

    it was called umkhan to we sizwe
  • Nelson Mendela Sentenced Lif in Prison

    he was accusse of treason and was sentenced to life.
  • Soweto Uprising

    high schol students started protesting for better education and the police answered with gun fire.
  • Steve Bike DIes in Custody

    suffered major head trama.
  • Desmand TUtu

    awarded for the non violent efforts to end partheid in south africa.
  • Nelson Mendela

    released from prison in 1990. he was charged with sabotage
  • nelson mendela becomes president of africa.

    he was the first black president