Parlaiment house

Australian Prime Ministers

  • Harold Holt

    After a record 16-year term, Sir Robert Menzies resigned and Harold Holt was sworn in.
  • John McEwen

    John McEwen was sworn in as Prime Minister two days after Harold Holt disappeared in the ocean off Portsea, Victoria.
  • John Gorton

    After the Liberal Party elected Senator John Gorton as the new Party leader, he was sworn in as Prime Minister.
  • William McMahon

    After displacing John Gorton as Liberal Party leader, William McMahon was sworn in as Prime Minister.
  • Gough Whitlam

    Labor was elected to government for the first time in 26 years. Gough Whitlam and deputy Lance Barnard were sworn in to comprise the first ministry until a Cabinet was chosen.
  • Malcolm Fraser

    After the Governor-General Sir John Kerr dismissed the Labor government, Malcolm Fraser became ‘caretaker’ Prime Minister pending a general election.
  • Robert Hawke

    A Labor government was sworn in and Bob Hawke became Prime Minister
  • Paul Keating

    In an exchange of Labor Party leadership, Paul Keating became prime minister, succeeding Bob Hawke, who left parliament on 20 February 1992 after 12 years representing the seat of Wills.
  • John Howard

    The first Coalition government for 13 years was sworn in, with John Howard as Prime Minister.
  • Kevin Rudd

    Ministers of the new Labor government led by Kevin Rudd, with Julia Gillard as Australia’s first female deputy Prime Minister, sworn in by the Governor-General.
  • Julia Gillard

    Julia Gillard became Australia’s 27th Prime Minister and the first woman to hold the office. She was elected unopposed by the Parliamentary Labor Party