1800 - 1876

  • moving of the capital

    the u.s. capital was moved from Philadelphia to Washington DC
  • Period: to

    Jefferson's Presidency

    Thomas Jefferson was the third U.S. President
  • Louisiana purchase

    America bought 800,000 square miles from France for around $15,000,000
  • lewis and clark expedition

    lewis and clark trek through the newly bought territory
  • Lewis and Clark reach the Pacific ocean

    after nearly a year they finally reach the other end of the continent
  • Madison is president

    James Madison becomes the fourth U.S. President
  • Period: to

    war of 1812

    a war between America and England, over England taking Americans for solders
  • the British capture DC

    while in control of the capital they burn down the white house
  • Monroe is President

    James Monroe becomes the fifth President
  • Florida is ceded to the U.S.

    Spain agrees to cede Florida to the United States
  • Adams is President

    John Quincy Adams becomes the sixth President
  • Baltimore and Ohio railroad

    the first Public railroad in the U.S.
  • Jackson is President

    Andrew Jackson becomes the seventh President
  • Indian removal act

    this act allows the removal of Indians from the eastern parts of America to the west
  • independence of Texas

    Texas declares its independence from Mexico
  • Burer is President

    Martin Van Buren becomes the eighth President
  • Harrison is President

    William Henry Harrison becomes the ninth President
  • Harrison dies

    one month into his presidency Harrison dies and vice president John Tyler takes over
  • Polk is President

    James Polk becomes the eleventh President
  • Period: to

    Mexican War

    a war between America and Mexico over the south west territories of North America
  • Period: to

    california Gold Rush

    after gold was found in California hundreds of people rushed down trying to claim it
  • Taylor is President

    Zachary Taylor becomes the twelfth President
  • Taylor dies

    after the death Taylor vice president Millard Fillmore takes the role as President
  • Pierce is President

    Franklin Pierce becomes the fourteenth President
  • Kansas-Nebraska Act

    establishes Kansas and Nebraska
  • Buchanan is President

    James Buchanan becomes the 15th President
  • Lincoln is elected President

    Abraham Lincoln Becomes the 16th President
  • South Carolina secedes

    South Carolina secedes from the U.S. over the differing opinions on slavery
  • southern states secede

    Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, and Louisiana secede
  • confederate states of America form

    the states that seceded form into their own union, lead by Jefferson Davis
  • more states secede

    Virginia, Arkansas, North Carolina, and Tennessee secede
  • Period: to

    Civil War

    the southern and northern states fight over the expansion of slavery into the rest of the American states
  • battle of Gettysburg

    one of the biggest fights in the Civil war
  • Lincoln is killed

    Lincoln is assassinated by John Wilkes Booth
  • new amendment

    a new amendment that prohibits slavery
  • Alaska is Purchased

    U.S. acquires Alaska from Russia for the sum of $7.2 million
  • Grant is President

    Ulysses S. Grant becomes the 18th President
  • new amendment

    this amendment gave blacks the right to vote
  • battle at the Little Big Horn River

    Lt. Col. George A. Custer's regiment is wiped out by Sioux Indians under Sitting Bull at the Little Big Horn River, Mont.