U.S. History Timeline

  • Proclamation of 1763

    Proclamation of 1763
    The Proclamation of 1763 prohibited the native Americans from setting on french land, this was to appease the Americans by checking the environment of Europe settlers on their land. The colonists were eager to see the new land so they ignored the act and instead, settled.
  • Sugar Act

    Sugar Act
    The Sugar Act raised money from colonists to help pay Britains dept. The colonists were against taxation without proper representation in parliament so they began to protest.
  • Currency Act

    Currency Act
    The Currency Act prohibited the printing and issuance of paper money by colonial legislatures, this was to protect the British merchants from depreciated colonial currency. The colonists began to protest because they were prohibited from issuing their own currency.
  • The Quartering Act

    The Quartering Act
    The Quartering Act prohibited British soldiers from being quartered in private homes. This was to increase empire defense costs in America. The colonists resented and opposed because they were being taxed to pay for provisions for the army.
  • Stamp Act

    Stamp Act
    The Stamp Act taxed things such as newspapers, legal documents, dice and playing cards. This was to help pay for British troops stationed in the colonies. The colonists were threatened or forced to quit their jobs so the colonists refused to pay the tax.
  • Declaratory Act

    Declaratory Act
    The Declaratory Act declared that the British House of Lords had appellate jurisdiction for Irish court cases. This was to assert the authority of British government to tax its subjects. The colonists ignored this act because It declared American governmental institutions to be completely dependent on the will of Parliament.
  • Townshend Revenue Act

    Townshend Revenue Act
    The Townshend Revenue Act initiated taxes on glass, lead, paint, paper and tea. This helped pay expenses involved in American colonies government. The colonists boycotted the act and did not buy the goods because they saw the act as an abuse of power.
  • The Boston Massacre

    The Boston Massacre
    The Boston Massacre was a fight between English Colonists and British Troops. This was because the colonists were angry about the acts, especially The Quartering Act. As a result the colonists threw snowballs at the soldiers and called them names which led to 5 colonists killed when the troops fought back.
  • The Tea Act

    The Tea Act
    The Tea Act granted the right to ship tea directly to the colonies without first landing in England. This was because Britain needed to find a way to tax the colonies. The colonists didn't accept the constitutionally of the duty on tea because they believed the act was a tactic to gain colonial support for the taxes already inforced.
  • The Boston Tea Party

    The Boston Tea Party
    The Boston Tea Party was when American Colonists threw chests of tea into the Boston Harbor. This was because Britain was making the colonists pay forced taxes. The colonists were unhappy so they protested.
  • The Intolerable Acts

    The Intolerable Acts
    The Intolerable Acts punished the Massachusetts colonists for their defiance in tea party protest of the tea act, this was so isolate and separate the colonies. The colonists felt that it was a violation to their rights so they started to protest by asserting the rights of American colonies to self government.
  • Lexington and Concord

    Lexington and Concord
    Lexington and Concord happened because British soldiers wanted to take the colonists guns away to suppress the possibility of rebellion. It ended with the colonists taking the victory because they had more people who wanted to help, it also ended with many "Minutemen" dead and
  • Bunker Hill

    Bunker Hill
    Bunker Hill was caused to prevent the British Soldiers from conducting further attacks because Bunker Hill controlled all the roads. It ended with many British hurt and dead, this is said to be one of the bloodiest battles.
  • The Declaration of Independence

    The Declaration of Independence
    The Declaration of Independence was a letter to Britain declaring their independence. It was approved by the Continental Congress on July 4, and stated the separation of the 13 colonies from Britain.