Timeline created by kermitmickey22
  • Fredrich Miescher

    He was the first researcher to isolate and identify nucleic acid
  • Fredrick Griffith

    he reported what is now known as Griffith's Experiment, the first widely accepted demonstrations of bacterial transformation, whereby a bacterium distinctly changes its form and function
  • Stanley Cohen and Herb Boyer:

    The invention of recombinant DNA technology—the way in which genetic material from one organism is artificially introduced into the genome of another organism and then replicated and expressed by that other organism.
  • Max Delbruck:

    helped launch the molecular biology research program
  • Beadle and Tatum

    studied the genetics of Drosophila, or the fruit fly.
  • Avery Macleod McCarty:

    was an experimental demonstration, reported that DNA is the substance that causes bacteria transformation.
  • Paul berg:

    his contributations to basic research, involving nucleic acids.
  • Hershey, Alfred and Chase, Martha

    The Hershey–Chase experiments were a series of experiments
  • Franklin, Rosalind and Wilkins, Maurice

    they made crucial contributions to the discovery of DNA's structure
  • Watson and Crick

    They received the Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine for their determination of the structure of deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA).
  • Meselson, Matthew and Stahl, Frank

    The Meselson–Stahl experiment was an experiment by Matthew Meselson and Franklin Stahl which supported the hypothesis that DNA replication was semiconservative.
  • Edwin chargaff

    through careful experimentation, he discovered two rules that help lead to discovery of the double helix, structure of DNA.
  • Arthur Kornberg

    He won the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for his discovery of "the mechanisms in the biological synthesis of deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA)".
  • Marshall Nirenburg:

    He won a Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for "breaking the genetic code" and describing how it operates in protein synthesis
  • Kary Mullis

    In recognition of his improvement of the polymerase chain reaction (PCR) technique.