Dights Falls History

  • 1803

    Charles Grimes was the first European to explore the Yarra River.
    This is a picture of Charles Grimes
  • 1835

    Melbourne was settled and sub-divided.
    This is Melbourne in 1835
  • 1839

    John Dights purchase Melboune block 88 along the Yarra River. This was 26 acres of land.
    This is the land that John Dights purchased
  • 1840

    John Dight left to go to Port Phillip.
    This is Port Phillop.
  • 1841

    First Steam powered flour mill was created in Melbourne.
    This is the Flour mill that was created
  • 1860's

    A rough construction of a weir was made.
    This is a weir
  • 1864

    John Dight and his family abandoned flour milling.
  • 1878

    Property was sold to Edwin Trennery.
  • 1888

    New flour mill was constructed
  • 1891

    The enterprise was sold to the Melbourne Flour Milling company.
  • 1895

    A timber structure was built to provide water to the Melbourne Flour Milling company.
  • 1909

    The flour mill was destroyed in a fire, and changed hands for one last time.
  • 1918

    First documented reconstruction occurred when part of timber weir was washed away by a flood.
  • 1967

    Another breach of the weir occurred after heavy rainfall.
  • 1993

    Melbourne water constructed a rock fishway which allowed the fish to move around weir.
    This is a rock fishway
  • 2012

    New fishway was built
  • 1940

    Weir was constructed with 1.5 tonnes of rock