Chapter 7 review

  • Mid 1800s

    Beginning of official policies and protection
  • 1883

    Aboriginal protection board established in New South Wales
  • 1897

    Chief protector given authority to move aboriginal people to and from reserves
  • 1901

    Australian Constitution excludes Aboriginal people from the census. State governments have law-making power for Indigenous people.
  • 1909

    Aborigines Protection Act (NSW) gives Protection Board control over any Aboriginal child it labels ‘neglected’
  • 1937

    Federal government adopts policy of assimilation
  • 1965

    Federal government announces policy of integration
  • 1966

    Wave Hill Walk Off begins the modern campaign for the recognition of land rights
  • 1967

    Historic ‘yes’ vote to remove discriminatory sections from the Australian Constitution
  • 1971

    Establishment of the Tent Embassy Gove Land Rights Case upholds terra nullius
  • 1972

    Federal government adopts self-determination policy
  • 1973

    Prime Minister Gough Whitlam formally hands lease of part of their traditional lands to the Gurindji people
  • 1976

    Aboriginal Land Rights Act (Northern Territory) 1976 (Cwlth) provides some recognition of Indigenous people’s rights to land
  • 1983

    Aboriginal Land Rights Act 1983 (NSW) recognises Aboriginal ownership of reserves and also allows claims to be made on Crown lands
  • 1985

    Uluru is returned to its traditional owners
  • 1991

    Federal government adopts policy of reconciliation
  • 1992

    The Mabo decision overturns terra nullius
  • 1993

    The Native Title Act 1993 (Cwlth)
  • 1996

    The Wik decision
  • 1997

    Publication of HREOC’s Bringing Them Home report
  • 1998

    Native Title (Amendment) Act 1998 (Cwlth)
  • 2006

    The Noongar decision states that native title could still exist within Perth’s metropolitan area
  • 2008

    Kevin Rudds appology