Jay z

Jay Z

  • Birth

    Shawn Carter; Jay Z's real legal name was born on December 4th, to Gloria Carter and Adnis Reeves in Brooklyn, New York.
  • Rapper established

    Rapper established
    Jay Z, who used to be a drug dealer in the streets of Brooklyn, distinguishes himself as a talented rapper. He recorded "Hawaiian Sohpie" and a video for "The Originators" with Jaz-O, a more established rapper and got him a record deal to help his career flourish.
  • Daddy Kane

    Daddy Kane
    Jay Z steps into the spotlight with superstar rapper Big Daddy Kane, recording a video for "Show and Prove." He continues to hustle drugs.
  • Release

    Jay Z meets Damon Dash, who signs him to a record deal and another associate Kareem Burke, contirbute funds to form Roc-A-Fella Records. Jay's funds come to a close to six years of drug sales. "Reasonable Doubt" is released. The album goes gold and will ultimately be hailed as a hip-hop classic. Roc-A-Fella begins negotiations with Def Jam.
  • Christopher Wallace [Biggie Smalls]

    Christopher Wallace [Biggie Smalls]
    Jay's friend Notorious B.I.G. is murdered in Los Angeles. Def Jam and Roc-A-Fella agree to a joint venture, and "In My Lifetime, Vol.1" is released. The album does well commerically and signifies a move toward a pop audience. Jay finally retires from the dug dealing business.
  • Hard Knock Life

    Hard Knock Life
    Jay releases his biggest hit to date, Vol. 2: Hard Knock Life. It will eventually sell more than 5 million copies. He also embarks on a 52-city tour of the same name. Roc-A-Fella Records branches into fashion with the launch of the urban fashion house Rocawear.
  • S. Carter Release

    S. Carter Release
    Jay released Vol. 3: Life and Times of S. Carter, which garners more critical acclaim then Vol. 2. In December Jay is on hand at New York nightclub when Lance "Un" Rivera is stabbed. He is chargerd with the stabbing but denies it.
  • The Blueprint

    The Blueprint
    Jay relases "The Blueprint" on Semptember 11, the same morning the terrorists attacks level on the World Trade Center and damage the Pentagon. He preforms "Izzo (H.O.V.A.)," a single from the album, at the charity event. The Concert for New York. He also impresses listeners with an MTV Unplugged preformance, backed by players from hip-hop group The Roots.
  • 99 Problems

    99 Problems
    "The Black Album" is released with much fanfare, as it is Jay-Z's final album. The concert he plans as a good-bye sells out Madison Square Garden in less than five minutes. "99 Problems," is a single from the album, wins a Grammy. It sells well and is gernerally well accepted in both hip-hop and pop circles. Jay-Z retires from his career as an artist officially, though he continues to do shows for the next two years.
  • Tour with R. Kelly

    Tour with R. Kelly
    Adnis Reeves dies, having reconciled with Jay. Jay begins negotiations with Warner Music Group and Def Jam Recordings, both of which are offering him an executive post. Jay embarks on tour with R. Kelly, only to have the tour fall apart. Kelly eventually sues him for $75 million. The suit has not yet be resolved.
  • Kingdom Come

    Kingdom Come
    Jay-Z returns to recording music with his comeback album "Kingdom Come."

    Barbara Walters names Jay-Z as one of the 10 Most Fascinating People of 2006 for his Water For Life project (a collaboration between the United States Organisation, MTV, and Def Jam).
  • American Gangster

    Since "retiring" in 2004, Jay-Z has reached number one on Billboard charts with both "Kingdom Come" and "American Gangster." Hardly a year removed from the latter, Jay-Z's February 2009 release "Blueprint III" is the part three of a multi-platinum selling trilogy. Jay-Z's pre-release singles have proved successful as internet singles in advance of the album's release. "Ain't I," featuring four verses and blistering Timbaland production, has the rapper reaffirming his spot in the rap industry.
  • Saturday Night Live

    Saturday Night Live
    Jay-Z preforms on SNL with hostess Betty White, and sings three of his all-time greatest hits. Since that night, Jay-Z has recorded a new song with Eminem, entitiled "Change Gonna Come."
  • Tours!

    Jay-Z’s "Blueprint III" North American tour will make a cross-country trek in 2010 stopping at arenas in major markets including Houston, Dallas, New Orleans, Atlanta, Greensboro, Washington, Boston, Pittsburgh, St Louis, Indianapolis, Denver, San Jose, Los Angeles and more. Additional day of show and on sale information will be announced shortly for stops in East Rutherford, Uniondale, Atlantic City and Detroit.