Virginia Woolf

Timeline created by veraroheras
  • Birth

    Virginia Woolf was a British writer, author of novels, short stories and plays.
    Virginia was born on January 25, 1882 in London.
  • Family

    When Virginia was only thirteen years old, she suffered the first of her depressions due to the sudden death of her mother, .
    Her father's death from cancer in 1905 caused an alarming attack on her, so she was briefly admitted to the hospital.
  • Early Career

    Early Career
    Her first novel, The Voyage Out, was published in 1915. In this novel, as in Night and Day, the writer is already willing to break the preceding narrative schemes, but barely deserved consideration from critics. Only after the publication of Mrs. Dalloway and To the Lighthouse did critics begin to praise her literary originality
  • Career

    Woolf was considered one of the most important figures of international feminism of the 20th century.
    During the interwar period, Woolf was a significant figure in London literary society and a member of the Bloomsbury group. Her most famous works include the novels Mrs. Dalloway,To the Lighthouse , Orlando: a biography (1928), The Waves (1931), and her short essay A Room of Her own , with her famous sentence "A woman must have money and a room of her own if she is going to write fiction".
  • Death

    Throughout her life, Virginia suffered from a mental illness now known as bipolar disorder. After finishing her last novel Between the Acts, Woolf suffered from depression similar to the one she previously had. On March 28, 1941, Woolf committed suicide. She put on her coat, filled her pockets with stones and threw herself into the Ouse River near her home, where she drowned.