• Launch of the Euro

    Euro council chooses 11 countries (Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, and Spain) to transition to the euro.
  • Breaking Free

    Britain, Sweden, Denmark decide not to participate
  • Inauguration of the ECB

    Inauguration of the ECB, which will succeed the current European Monetary Institution.
  • Exchange Rates

    The practice of quoting exchange rates in price notation will be replaced by volume notation. This brings Europe into line with the pratice in other countries, notabluy the U.S.
  • Conversion Weekend

    ”Conversion Weekend” conversion rates between euro and national currencies are irrevocably xed
  • New Public Debt

    Euro becomes official currency in 11 countries New public debt is issued in the euro. National currencies will simply be denominatiors a matter of convenience until 2002.
  • Denmark's Refusal

    Denmark votes in a referendum not to join the Euro.
  • Greece Joins

    Greece is admitted to the Eurozone. The irrevocable conversion rate between the euro and the Greek drachma will be GDR 340.750 per 1Euro.
  • "E Day"

    "E Day" this day marks the beginning of the Euro, coins are circulated across EMU member countries and national currencies will be replaced by the Euro within 6 months of its introduction.
  • Sweden Avoids the Eurozone

    Sweden votes resoundingly to reject membershio in the European single currency.