The Great War

  • The Franco Prussian War Began

  • British launch first "dreadnought" class battleship.

  • Britain enterd in allience w/ Russia

    Britain also entered into an alliance with Russia that was already in alliance with France. This formed the Triple Entente which in turn became the core of the Allies during World War I.
  • Gavrilo Princip assassinates Franz Ferdinand.

  • Austria-Hungary declares war on Serbia.

  • Germany declares war on Russia.

  • Ottoman Empire and Germany sign a secret treaty of alliance

  • Germany declares war on France.

  • Germany invades Belgium, leading Britain to declare war on Germany.

  • The United Kingdom declares war on Germany.

  • Austria-Hungary declares war on Russia & Serbia declares war on Germany.

  • Austria-Hungary invades Russia

  • The Battle of Tannenberg begins.

  • Germans conduct air raid on Paris

  • The First Battle of the Marnebegins.

    Trench warfare begins as soldiers on both sides dig in.
  • Battle of Ypres begins.

  • Germany declares a "war zone" around Great Britain.

    essentially effecting a submarine blockade where even neutral merchant vessels were to be potential targets.
  • The Second Battle of Ypres begins.

    It is during this battle that the Germans first use poison gas.
  • The Battle of Gallipoli begins.

  • The British ocean liner RMS Lusitania is sunk by German U-boat, U-20

  • The Battle of Verdun begins.

    The Battle of Verdun was the longest battle of World War I and was one of the bloodiest
  • The Battle of Jutland, the major naval battle of the war, begins.

  • The Battle of the Somme begins.

    During the Battle of the Somme, tanks are first introduced into battle.
  • Germany sends the secret Zimmerman Telegram to Mexico in an effort to entice Mexico to join the war.

    The British intercept and decipher the coded message.
  • The United Stated declars war on Germany

  • The Battle of Passchendaele begins.

  • The Bolsheviks successfully overthrow the Russian government during the 1917 Russian Revolution.

  • The armistice agreed upon between the new Russian government and the Central Powers goes into effect.

  • President Woodrow Wilson declares his 14 points as the path to permanent world peace.