The American Revolution

Timeline created by Gprice99
  • The Sugar Act

    The Sugar Act
    The Sugar Act is when the British tax given to the American colonies to support Britains greedy policy. The British placed a tax on sugar and other imports from non-British colonies.
  • The Stamp Act

    The Stamp Act
    The Stamp Act was enforced by King George the Third. King George was hated in America more and more with every new tax levied. There was a saying that Americans came up with to fight back King Georges taxes, “No taxation without representation”.
  • Continental Congress

    Continental Congress
    To turn the tables on the British’s actions the colonies organized the First ever Continental Congress. The meeting took place in Philadelphia in September 1774. Members stressed to bare arms and organize small armies.
  • The Second Continental Congress

    The Second Continental Congress
    On July 4th (1776) the second Continental Congress adopted the Declaration of Independence. The Declaration of Independence guaranteed the rights of “Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of happiness” to every individual (not including slaves or women). The Declaration of Independence also gave the people the right to over throw the government if the government is not protecting the people’s rights.
  • The Battle of Saratoga

    The Battle of Saratoga
    The Colonist defeats Burgoyne’s British troops. This battle was important because it was the turning point of the war. The victory had the attention of France, the Netherlands, Spain and they had entered the war on the side of the Americans.
  • The Battle of Yorktown

    The Battle of Yorktown
    The Americans and French trap General Cornwallis’s army at Yorktown, Virginia. The British surrendered.
  • The Treaty of Paris

    The Treaty of Paris
    The Treaty of Paris ended the American Revolution. Territory much bigger than 13 colonies was gained. Benjamin Franklin was the chief negotiator.
  • The Articles of Confederation

    The Articles of Confederation
    After the Articles of Confederation was introduced the state governments began to form very strong. Congress was granted authority to make war and settle interstate disputes. They could not allow trade and had very little power to enforce new laws.