Revolutionary War: Political Lens

Timeline created by djentz
In History
  • Proclamation of 1763

    Proclamation of 1763
    Colonist were stopped from settling any further west.
  • The Sugar Act

    The Sugar Act
    The first tax imposed on the colonists.
  • The Quartering and Stamp acts

    The Quartering and Stamp acts
    The quartering act was another way the government imposed on the colonist by forcing them to house British soldiers with out consent or warning. The stamp act was a tax imposed on shipment of goods.
  • Declaratory Act

    Declaratory Act
    The Declaratory Act was a way for Parliament to exert their power as they repealed the Stamp act to not appear weak due to this action.
  • The Town-shed act

    The Town-shed act
    This put more taxes on the colonist for the goods of lead, paint, paper, and tea.
  • The Tea Act

    The Tea Act
    This act was enacted to reduce the amount of tea that was held.
  • The Boston Tea Party

    The Boston Tea Party
    The colonist revolting against the government and dumping tea into the Boston Harbor.
  • The Coercive Acts

    This was a series of laws to punish the colonist for their revolt. These were also known as the intolerable acts.
  • The First Continental Congress

    The colonies, except for Georgia, decided to work together to get rid of the coercive acts.