Butterfly color butterflies

A butterflies Life

  • Period: to

    Butterfly Lifespan

    Stage 1 - egg
    Stage 2 - caterpillar
    Stage 3 - Pupa
    Stage 4 - Butterfly
  • Egg

    The Egg StageThe first stage of a butterflies life is the egg. Femail butterflies lay eggs in the spring, summer or fall. This stage will last about 4 days.
  • Caterpillar Stage

    Caterpillar Stage
    Once the eggs hatches - a caterpillar will emerge. During this stage the caterpillar's main job is to eat, eat, and EAT. The caterpillar will grow up to 100 times its original size.
  • Pupa (Chrysalis)

    Pupa (Chrysalis)
    The Very Hungry CaterpillarOnce the caterpillar has gained enouph weight it will experiance metamorphosis. Metamorphosis is "a complete or marked change of physical form, structure, or substance".
  • Butterfly Stage

    Butterfly Stage
    Adult ButterflyThe last stage of the butterflies life span is the adult butterfly. Some butterflies only live a few days, whereas others may life up to 12 months.