cokers timeline

By cokerjm
  • 7years war

    The Seven Years' War was a global military conflict between 1756 and 1763, involving most of the great powers of the time affecting North and Central America, Europe, the West African coast, India and the Philippines.
  • revolution in Haiti

    The Haitian revolution, which began in 1791, was instrumental in inspiring the largest US slave revolt in New Orleans. There were huge numbers of Haitians who moved to New Orleans in the early 1800s after the success of the Haitian revolution
  • mexico

    Mexico declared its independence on 16 September 1810.
  • brazil

    Federative Republic of Brazil gained its independence from Portugal on September 7, 1822. The largest city in Brazil is Sao Paulo and its capital is Brasilia.
  • battle of ayacucho

    On December 9, 1824, the Battle of Ayacucho, or Battle of La Quinua, took place at Pampa de La Quinua, a few kilometers away from Ayacucho, near the town of Quinua between Royalist and Independentist forces.
  • battle of navarino

    The naval Battle of Navarino was fought on 20 October 1827,
  • mexican-american war

    The Mexican–American War was an armed conflict between the United States and Mexico from 1846 to 1848 in the wake of the 1845 U.S. annexation of Texas, which Mexico considered part of its territory despite the 1836 Texas Revolution.
  • crimean war

    Crimean War, (October 1853–February 1856), war fought mainly on the Crimean Peninsula between the Russians and the British, French, and Ottoman Turkish, with support, from January 1855, by the army of Sardinia-Piedmont. The war arose from the conflict of great powers in the Middle East and was more directly caused by Russian demands to exercise protection over the Orthodox subjects of the Ottoman sultan
  • civil war

    The American Civil War began on April 12, 1861.
    Most consider Lee's surrender on April 9, 1865 the end of the war.
    Although the Army of Northern Virginia surrendered on April 9th, technically, there were still Confederate Forces in the field until June. Confederate General Stand Watie surrendered on June 23, 1865 when the last major fighting occurred.
  • austo-prussian war

    The Austro-Prussian War (in Germany known as German War, Seven Weeks War, Unification War,[2] German-German War, German Civil War or Fraternal War) was a war fought in 1866 between the German Confederation under the leadership of the Austrian Empire and its German allies on one side and the Kingdom of Prussia with its German allies and Italy on the other, that resulted in Prussian dominance over the German states.
  • canada independence

    Canada officially became a country in July 1, 1867 when it signed the British North America Act or BNA Act. This was called Confederation,
    It slwoly became independent,
  • france prussian war

    The Franco-Prussian War or Franco-German War, often referred to in France as the 1870 War[7] (19 July 1870 – 10 May 1871) was a conflict between the Second French Empire and the Kingdom of Prussia. Prussia was aided by the North German Confederation, of which it was a member, and the South German states of Baden, Württemberg and Bavaria. The complete Prussian and German victory brought about the final unification of Germany under King Wilhelm I of Prussia
  • end of italian unification

    Italian unification was the political and social movement that agglomerated different states of the Italian peninsula into the single state of Italy in the 19th century. Despite a lack of consensus on the exact dates for the beginning and end of this period, many scholars[who?] agree that the process began in 1815 with the Congress of Vienna and the end of Napoleonic rule, and ended sometime around 1871 with the Franco-Prussian War.
  • the drefus affair

    The Dreyfus affair (French: l'affaire Dreyfus) was a political scandal that divided France in the 1890s and the early 1900s. It involved the conviction for treason in November 1894 of Captain Alfred Dreyfus, a young French artillery officer of Alsatian Jewish descent.
  • australia independence

    Australia gained its own government in 1901, however; Australia is still part of the commonwealth of Great Britain.
  • nothern ireland becomes independent

    What is now known as Northern Ireland came into existence in 1922.